Search Unity

Balance in an ARPG without items

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by supermikhail, Feb 15, 2017.

1. supermikhail

supermikhail

I'm making an action-RPG (I think), but without items (except one). You are a robot who picks up universal modules to non-permanently enhance your abilities. The modules are in this way a combination of equipment and skill points. I've been inspired and encouraged by Expeditions: Conquistador, for reference.

My problem is how to balance this thing. First, I'm not a big player of ARPGs, due to the reasons reflected in this design: loot collection doesn't do anything for me. Second, it's my first time working on something like this.

Right now I've implemented several abilities:

Basic Attack, deals little damage from a distance,

Nuclear Punch, deals a lot of damage close-up with a long wind-up,

Repair passively heals you with your free modules

You also invest modules to increase your max health

I think I should add another type of item - blueprints that unlock the abilities in the first place. But what does it mean to unlock an ability and not have any modules invested into it? Does it just not work? Or if it does, how much damage does it deal (or heal, or whatever)? How much does a single module add?

On the flipside of this conundrum is what to do with enemies. They can't all drop modules, you'll either get overpowered too quickly, or modules will make too little difference. But if only few enemies drop loot (and in fact just drain it and potential upgrades, via healing) it seems to remove any motivation for fighting them.

What do you think?

2. Zampavorian

Zampavorian

Slow down. Let's start with the mechanics you've already thought out. Why do you have them? Think about how you'd like your game to ultimately play and feel, and consider whether they help achieve that feeling or not.