Search Unity

Baked Lights with Realtime Ambient?

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by CDF, Jul 20, 2017.

1. CDF

CDF

Hi, first off I'm making a Mobile game, so my realtime lighting options are limited.

I'm trying to achieve an effect where I can go between night/day lighting. I only wish to change the intensity/color of light, the direction of the sun won't change, just the effect of the world getting darker.

Problem is, in order to make it feel dark I need to bake the ambient at a dark value so that when I adjust the light intensity to something like 0.1, the realtime light matches with the baked light. This presents a problem when it's day time, the ambient is so dark on the baked objects making the scene look very unnatural. Changing the ambient color has no effect on baked objects.

The solution is to use realtime GI with realtime ambient. But that is burning up my poor tiny little iPhone 5s.

I'm pretty new to lighting, usually someone else does this stuff, but unfortunately it's up to me now. Wondering if there are any solutions to this problem for Mobile?

I've tired making a white cubemap and setting that to my "Environment Relfections" source. While that does boost the blacks, everything kinda looks washed out.

Should I look at the post processing stack for this? Seeing as the sun won't move, maybe I can just color grade the scene?

2. Khazmadu

Khazmadu

You could bake all Lights and multiply the Lightmap with a color on runtime.
    I can't tell you how to do that exactly but with this approche there is absolutly no light that needs to be calculated in realtime.

3. CDF

CDF