Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Are there not Security issues using [Command] & [ClientRPC]?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Piesk, Feb 22, 2017.

1. Piesk

Piesk

So I'm new to networking, I've done a fair amount of research into Unity's multiplayer system and understand how to use Commands and RPC's. My concern is that all of this code is on the clients machine, if it's a client it runs the RPC code and if it's the server it runs the Command code, but if a hostile client were to decompile the code could they not simply alter this just like any other code so that they can manipulate code that should only be run on the server?

Please correct me If I'm wrong as it would make my life a lot easier in terms of current development. Trying to figure out how to proceed with my current project up until the point that the stand alone simulation server is released.

2. LukeDawn

LukeDawn

The client could easily be hostile. Whilst the client should never be trusted, you can also go to such great lengths to avoid cheating, that you bog the game down for all players. It's a trade off. How will cheating impact the game? If only 1% of players are cheats, and they only cheat 1% of the time, is it really worth spending a lot of time and effort to catch them out, when your player base might draw cheaters to your attention in forums or elsewhere?

I don't believe there are any wrong answers to this one.

3. Piesk

Piesk

It is important when there are IAP's involved definitely. I'm looking to create an authoritative server. But this issue seems to negate the point of it?

4. TheDigitalDev

TheDigitalDev

I would think so, that's why I switched from using the HLAPI to the LLAPI. Instead of the hardwired mess that is the HLAPI, you can have way more control with LLAPI.

5. donnysobonny

donnysobonny