Search Unity

AR development with Vuforia

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by aliceingameland, Dec 9, 2016.

  1. aliceingameland

    aliceingameland

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    SmartDigitalNetworks likes this.
  2. katoun

    katoun

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Posts:
    91
    Hello,

    I have a feature request from Vuforia and it's important for a future commercial project:
    Add the possibility to track an object from a custom point-set given by me, created in a 3D modeling tool like Blender of 3DMax, instead of let’s say from that “limiting” app called Vuforia Object Scanner. If Vuforia can track objects using the point-data generated from Vuforia Object Scanner, than what I requested definitely can work.

    Thank you
    Regards
     
    theolagendijk likes this.
  3. Augmenteer

    Augmenteer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    43
    Are these point sets you are creating in Blender a/o 3ds Max, or are you using a 3D capture solution to produce point clouds, by scanning real objects, that you then import to these tools?

    As you know, our Object Recognition relies on a scanning app that we provide to capture the object and produce a data representation that can be used to recognize and track the object. There is currently no support for generating these datasets from other sources.

    Can you describe your use case? Is the object scanner we provide limiting because of the source of your object representation?
     
  4. katoun

    katoun

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Posts:
    91
    Hello,
    The answer on your forums was No to object recognition of a real live car and that it's limited to small object like toys.
    I know that other people are doing this (most probably with OpenCV) by providing the datasets from a well made 3D representation of that car (in 3DMax or other 3D modelling app).
    I am not a compute vision programmer, I am an Unity Developer and this is where Vuforia helped me with a prior project for a client. But now, for this future project, it's not helping me.

    What I need is a conversion from a 3D model (fbx or obj) to your datasets that can recognize the real object.

    Thank you
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2016
    theolagendijk likes this.
  5. amjadyahya1

    amjadyahya1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    It will be great to have Vuforia support inside unity.

    A very useful feature to add would be the marker-less augmentation, this has many useful applications and I think this feature would give a boost to AR apps.

    Thank you for integrating Vuforia.
     
    meedabit likes this.
  6. Augmenteer

    Augmenteer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    43
    Katoun - I've communicated your request and requirements to my team. We've seen a lot of interest in the capability you've identified.

    Stay tuned. If we introduce a new feature of this sort we'll be sure to announce it through the Unity community.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2016
  7. Augmenteer

    Augmenteer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    43
    amjadyahya1 - This is another popular feature request that we're looking into.

    Also have you looked into our User Defined Targets feature - it enables you to capture an image at runtime and use it as a target.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2016
  8. katoun

    katoun

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Posts:
    91
    Super,
    Thank you
     
  9. Railon23

    Railon23

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Hi @aliceingameland (Unity) and @Augmenteer (vuforia),
    we've been using vuforia for nearly two years now and we've made several iOS and Android Apps. We've started every App development on one of the samples provided by vuforia (https://developer.vuforia.com/downloads/samples).
    Now I would like to get a little bit more info about the news, especially about this:
    1. Is this gonna happen automatically?
    2. Is there a roadmap for these improvements? How can I stay updated?
    3. Is the Vuforia AR Starter Kit already an improvement over the vuforia samples (https://developer.vuforia.com/downloads/samples)?
    4. Should I use the Vuforia AR Starter Kit instead of the samples on the vuforia website?
    Thanks
     
    ina and matterama like this.
  10. linojon

    linojon

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Posts:
    118
  11. matterama

    matterama

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Excellent question, I would like to see the answer also...the biggest problem we have had is the overhead in juggling Vuforia, Unity and Hololens support as each item changes / tweaks along the way. The modified sample projects we use for test broke during the last upgrade to Vuforia 6.2 because we missed the buried migration link (http://library.vuforia.com/articles/Solution/Migrating-Unity-Projects-to-Vuforia-6-2) that indicated all the changes that had to be made before opening the project in Unity. Likewise, Unity's special Hololens version is where we do our Holo development so far, worried that the migration path to 5.5 will have similar hiccups.
     
    theolagendijk likes this.
  12. NGC6543

    NGC6543

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Posts:
    228
    Hi @aliceingameland , I'm trying to use vuforia for my app. It works great on editor and iOS device, but has some issue with multiple scenes.

    Currently I have 2 Scenes. One for main game and one for camera calibration.
    Both scenes use Vuforia and have ARCamera prefab.

    The symptom is, when I load scene from one to another,
    Code (CSharp):
    1. CameraDevice.Instance.GetCameraImage(pixelFormat)
    no longer updates images. It returns the very last image which had been captured just before the first scene loading was started.

    I've added callback methods on VuforiaBehaviour.StartEvent, UpdateEvent, etc. And found out that except the first scene(at the beginning of the application) Vuforia never trigger StartEvent even if the 'StartVuforia' log appears after scene loading is completed. So I added an IEnumerator that registers pixel format a few seconds later the scene loading. And it works fine but CameraDevice.Instance.GetCameraImage() still doesn't give the latest image.

    ++ oh, this doesn't happen in the Editor. My app works as expected in the Editor. It only happens on the device (iOS)
     
  13. Bunderant

    Bunderant

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    Hi @Augmenteer, I've been doing some experiments with Vuforia's image target tracking, and for the most part, I've been really impressed with the performance. I was surprised to see when profiling, though, that there was an almost 1MB allocation each frame coming from the WebCamTexture.GetPixels32 method. Even in Unity 5.4, which is the minimum required for your plugin, that method can take an optional buffer parameter to store the Color32[] result. This is an easy fix, and would drastically cut down memory allocations and get rid of the frequent spikes from the garbage collector while the video feed is running.

    I was hoping to make that change myself, but it's buried in the dll. I realize this may not be a priority for you guys at the moment, given the upcoming Unity integration, but I just wanted to make sure you were aware of it. Anyway, thanks for reading, and hopefully I'll be using Vuforia more in the future.
     
    Railon23 likes this.
  14. ina

    ina

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1,085
    is the integration just an asset store partnership still as an external plugin, or a deeper integration - comparable to mecanim acquisition. if the latter, which version of Unity would vuforia be enabled right from a Unity editor window?
     
  15. jexmatex

    jexmatex

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Posts:
    47
    Hi Vuforia users, i have the try licence to play with, and it works really fine until i build the app,
    Then i can't seems to be able to access the camera it previously acces without any troubles.
    i was told its a problem of 32 bits / 64 bits version of unity, vuforia seems not to be able to build correctly in 64 bits unity.
    is that a fact and if it is is there a roadmap on this ?
    a apologize if the question was already ask.
     
  16. theolagendijk

    theolagendijk

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    117
    @jexmatex ; No that's not true I have often build Vuforia into 64 bits app. As far as I know that's the only way your apps will get accepted on the iOS platform! But having said that, I would advice using Arcolib. It's a new Unity asset. And it's very promising an getting better and better at a rapid pace. It's cheaper ( for commercial usage ) and way more developer friendly. Arcolib is now my first choice for all our AR projects. I hope Unity will notice it too and drop the strategic collaboration with PTC and buy Arcolib.
     
    SmartDigitalNetworks likes this.
  17. ina

    ina

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1,085
    Interesting! It does seem easier on the dev side but how does it fare performance-wise to Vuforia? Not impressed with their demo video, due to the laggy performance - but do you have better results?
     
  18. theolagendijk

    theolagendijk

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    117
    @ina Arcolib is performance-wise ( 2D target tracking quality ) better than the video suggests and is rapidly becoming better and better. And more important @yezaldivar is listening to it's users and responding to their feature requests. We've done plenty of Vuforia projects but we have to say that their price-quality ratio is embarrassing. (We used to work with the far superior Metaio technology stack before it was bought by Apple.) The price-service ratio is ridiculously bad. Over the last year I have spend more than $5489,= on Vuforia Classic licenses ( a $499 license per app! ) for features that are now almost free with @yezaldivar 's Arcolib AR components. And if you buy the Arcolib asset you can use it unlimited in any way that you like instead of being limited by al sorts of ridiculous Vuforia restrictions. When we recently tried to use Vuforia on a Microsoft Surface tablet we discovered that you need to use their UWP export option ( they don't offer Windows Standalone support ) and for that scenario you need to contact a Vuforia pricing specialist. I'm not kidding you, the cheapest price option for that scenario is a consumer pro license ; $2500,= per app. But this license comes with all sorts of restrictions on it's usage. Get this ; Arcolib is now only $41.25 and will always stay below $100,= and it will include UWP support in the future with no restrictions on the usage. I have contacted @yezaldivar with ideas for helping Vuforia users in transitioning from Vuforia projects to Arcolib projects and he's already implementing features to smoothen that proces for us. I'm very busy with other stuff at the moment but I'm looking forward to posting examples of my results with Arcolib at a later time.
     
    ina likes this.
  19. ina

    ina

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1,085
    I agree with all of your issues with Vuforia - including their ridiculous sales cycle where two separate sales people insist on scheduling phone meetings with you before they will even tell you the price - and this is where i've already indicated that it would be for a hobbyist project, where the entire budget is basically nothing - and even then, the absolute lowest cost of UWP license is $2500.

    Hope to support Arcolib, but also concerned about whether they might go metaio's way to apple
     
    theolagendijk likes this.
  20. jexmatex

    jexmatex

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Posts:
    47
    thank for that Theo i'm gonna check
     
    theolagendijk likes this.
  21. ajitsaini29

    ajitsaini29

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I would like to know when or how can this scanner app be available for IOS, I am stuck on my project due to this.
     
  22. meedabit

    meedabit

    Official Vuforia Employee Vuforia

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    266
    Hello @NGC6543,

    Apologies for the very late response but I did want to follow up on the issue you've reported. I wanted to confirm the version of the Vuforia Extension that you used when this observation was made. Note that in Vuforia 6.2, the concept of a single, global ARCamera was introduced:

    https://library.vuforia.com/articles/Training/Changes-to-the-Unity-ARCamera-with-Vuforia-6-2

    Thanks!
     
  23. meedabit

    meedabit

    Official Vuforia Employee Vuforia

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    266
    Hello @Bunderant,

    Thank you for the feedback. I will open an investigation into your observations with the core engineering team, and provide relevant updates once they are available.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2017
  24. NGC6543

    NGC6543

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Posts:
    228
    Hi,
    I used the Vuforia 6.2.6 at the time. I had to re-initialize webcam by release pixel format and register pixel format again.
     
  25. meedabit

    meedabit

    Official Vuforia Employee Vuforia

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    266
    Hello,

    The development team did some investigation to better understand your observations, yet was unable to identify the WebCamTexture.GetPixels32 method in Vuforia's implementation.

    We will look further into the possibility of optimizing the Play Mode feature for Vuforia. Thank you for your interest and feedback.
     
  26. Ga2Z

    Ga2Z

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Posts:
    68
    Hello. I wanted to know how can I build a PC Standalone application using vuforia.

    I'm, currently using Untiy 2017.2 and imported vuforia form the XR Settings, Although I don't get any errors on build, the screen is completely black when I run it and the webcam doesn't turn on.

    Thank you.
     
  27. AM-Dev

    AM-Dev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Hi Ga2Z,
    we're using vuforia for several years. As far as I know it's not possible to create a PC standalone app. You can use a webcam to test on PC within the editor, but standalone wasn't possible in the past. I would be suprised if I missed to announcement/option that it's possible (now).

    Cheers
     
  28. meedabit

    meedabit

    Official Vuforia Employee Vuforia

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    266
    Hello,

    Thank you very much for your interest in Vuforia. I can confirm AM-Dev's response that the Vuforia SDK currently does not support PC standalone applications.

    For a list of supported devices and compatibility with the latest commercial version of the SDK, please see the following resource pages:
    https://vuforia.com/devices.html
    https://library.vuforia.com/articles/Solution/Vuforia-Supported-Versions

    Thanks,
    -Vuforia Support