Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Approach / Design For 2D Games In Unity

Discussion in '2D' started by Gemfruit, Apr 21, 2017.

1. Gemfruit

Gemfruit

So this is a bit of an unconventional question / conversation, but I'm in a relatively unique position right now, and the advice would help me a lot. This will be a bit long-winded, but I'll do my best to be concise and explain exactly where I'm coming from.

My Background

I have quite a few years of experience in game development, almost entirely in Flash, using FlashDevelop and AS3 (no visual editor, just code and assets, proper OOP, etc). I defend my approach there, because we're all aware of the stigma of Flash games, and how varying the quality of both the game and development process can be. That being said, I while I haven't launched anything in Unity formally, I've dabbled with it for 20-50 hours, not much, but I'm not completely new.

The "Problem"

My main issue since moving to Unity, is leaving behind the framework(s) I used to use that took care of a lot of the nitty gritty for me. For instance, I used to use FlashPunk, which had a ton of built in functions for everything math related, tile based collision, working with the sprite sheets in animations, etc. I know a lot of that already exists here, but I don't yet know what it is, where it is, or exactly how it works - time will remedy that.

What's really getting me caught up, is how to approach things I once new how to do. I don't know if I should be simply manipulating the X and Y properties for my movement using math for easing like I once did, or if I should be using the 2D physics engine. I sometimes hear the built in 2D tools and physics are terrible, but that could be biased advice, I just don't know.