1. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We’re giving 2017.1 beta testers a chance to win t-shirts and a Nintendo Switch. Read more on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Unity 2017.1 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 5.6 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Get further faster with the Unity Plus Accelerator Pack, free for new Unity Plus subscribers for a limited time. Click here for more details.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Learn how you'll soon be able to publish your games to China in four simple steps with Xiaomi. Sign up now for early access.
    Dismiss Notice

Ambient Color?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Vire, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. Vire

    Vire

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Posts:
    178
    Hi there,

    I was wondering how to achieve the same effect I get from plugging in a texture into 'ambient color' in maya's lambert shader. I don't know if there's some term for it, I haven't been into 3d for games for too long.
     
  2. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7,327
    I don't know this shader. I'm guessing that you're talking about using greyscale ambient occlusion as a lookup into a ramp. That would be expensive in realtime, and I recommend you bake that into the diffuse texture. A link to the description of what's actually going on would help. Make your own YouTube video if it doesn't exist, but I bet it does.
     
  3. Vire

    Vire

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Posts:
    178
    That isn't what I mean at all. Here, all shaders in this screenshot are using ambient color.

    I'm trying to make a cartoon visual style and ambient color is part of it. Unity has no 'ambient color' - I'm trying to find out what it calls it instead.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7,327
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
  5. Vire

    Vire

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Posts:
    178
    Hi there,

    Thanks for the info, I think that's what I was after.

    Model is only 50cm high.
     
  6. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7,327
    Unity doesn't have a concept of meatspace units. Your grid is very small.