1. We've introduced thread tags, search within a thread and similar thread search. Read more here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We've released our first Timeline Experimental Preview, our new tool for creating cutscenes and more! To check it out click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Unity Pro perpetual license customers: your special offer to subscribe is ready! Click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Unity 5.5 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out all the fixes for 5.5 in patch releases 1 & 2.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 5.6 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Get prepared for the Tizen Mobile App Incentive Program! Read more about the upcoming program here.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Enter the Microsoft Developer Challenge for a chance to win prizes. Read more about it here.
    Dismiss Notice

Ambient Color?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Vire, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. Vire

    Vire

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Hi there,

    I was wondering how to achieve the same effect I get from plugging in a texture into 'ambient color' in maya's lambert shader. I don't know if there's some term for it, I haven't been into 3d for games for too long.
     
  2. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,327
    I don't know this shader. I'm guessing that you're talking about using greyscale ambient occlusion as a lookup into a ramp. That would be expensive in realtime, and I recommend you bake that into the diffuse texture. A link to the description of what's actually going on would help. Make your own YouTube video if it doesn't exist, but I bet it does.
     
  3. Vire

    Vire

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    That isn't what I mean at all. Here, all shaders in this screenshot are using ambient color.

    I'm trying to make a cartoon visual style and ambient color is part of it. Unity has no 'ambient color' - I'm trying to find out what it calls it instead.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,327
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
  5. Vire

    Vire

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Hi there,

    Thanks for the info, I think that's what I was after.

    Model is only 50cm high.
     
  6. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,327
    Unity doesn't have a concept of meatspace units. Your grid is very small.