Search Unity

Advice practice for scripting

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by jrans, Oct 21, 2016.

1. jrans

jrans

Hi,
    I'm a new developer in the world of Unity and i want to ask you advice in practice of scripting.
    In Flash or Haxe, i have habits to write everything... button creation, listeners, animations... Lot of pain but a total control on how my code work and how is made.
    With Unity we have a great IDE but if i write one script to control all gameobjets in current scene, it's that a correct way ?
    Little example : i have a Canvas for my Menu UI. Great, i've created all of stuff, butto, background, slider in IDE and that's cool. But now i must script this to work correctly. Do i create a script for each button and put it like a component or one single script to rules them all is a good practice ?
    And if i choose the second solution, how i can access to a button ?
    like that: http://pastebin.com/CBPQuA1h

Thanks for your help !

2. Kalladystine

Kalladystine

The question is really open ended and there will be a lot of differing opinions.
    If you're used to controlling everything but want to use Unity, I'd say you might want to look into ECS patterns (Entity-Component-System). There are a couple of them made specifically for Unity (Entitas is the leading example as far as I know).

If you just want your UI to work, look into Unity UI tutorials (from the Learn section, but also from Unite talks - check Unity channel on youtube). You could just hook the events to your functions using Unity Events, but your question is not specific enough (at least for me) on what you want - general solution or an answer to specific problem.

3. DonLoquacious

DonLoquacious

EDIT: This is totally overkill, but once I got about halfway through I decided to just take it all the way so I'll have something to point to later when questions like these come up.