Search Unity

Adjusting blend tree parameters based on 3 dimensions (horizontal, vertical and rotation).

Discussion in 'Animation' started by WattooGaming, Jul 24, 2017.

1. WattooGaming

WattooGaming

I'm new to unity, but I'm fairly comfortable with C# and 3D animation principals.

I've run into a brick wall with this one though. The blend tree system is fantastic, but I'm really not sure how to solve this problem as the types only allow for operations on 1 or 2 dimensions. Perhaps this has been asked before but it's proving very difficult to find any answers by searching.

I am coding a rather simple top-down isometric game with a orthographic camera, very similar to the "Survival Shooter" tutorial in the Unity Learn section. There is 360 of movement and 360 of aiming (rotation) which are in-dependant of each other.

I have set up a blend tree for animation movement which is working perfect for horizontal and vertical movement, however as my camera is not following the players rotation.. once I rotate +-45 degrees the animations are not correct.

Example.... I could rotate 180 degrees and move backwards, but then my character appears to be running forwards while moving backwards.

The first thing I was thinking is to somehow adjust the float parameters sent to the blend tree between 0 and 1 based on the angle of rotation.. but I'm not sure if there is an easier way that I am not aware of?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attached Files:

2. Baste

Baste

The common way to do this is to rotate the model in code, not in animation. You don't want to have to make a bunch of different "running forward" animations, each for what direction you're running in.

3. WattooGaming

WattooGaming

Yes I figured this would be the way to go, as Unity doesn't seem to have any tools to introduce a third dimension to the blend trees.