Search Unity

Adding a Rise/Fall Jump to a PlayerController

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by IcemanPantsify, Feb 27, 2017.

1. IcemanPantsify

IcemanPantsify

So I'm fairly new to Unity and I was testing out 3D movement. I can add basic movement but I decided to add a jump. The way I figured it out by was to translate the object to the point in the air. However, the code instantly takes the object to the point then drops the object.

How would you code the object so that when triggered, would rise to the maximum height if the jump key is held, then would fall?

Current Code:
    public float jumpHeight;

if (Input.GetKeyDown("space"))
    transform.Translate (Vector3.up * jumpHeight * Time.deltaTime, Space.World);

2. StridingDragon

StridingDragon

What you want to do is add a force to the rigibody, instead of doing a Translate..

Code (CSharp):
    1.             _rb.AddForce(  0, gravity, 0, ForceMode.Acceleration );
    In this example, _rb would be the rigidbody component attached to your transform, and gravity is any value you see fit, though most people would use 9.8, as it is properly reflecting Newtonian physics.

3. AndyGainey

AndyGainey

ForceMode.Acceleration is only appropriate if you continuously add the force each frame as long as the jump key is held down, but this is going to lead to a very awkward jump feel, more like a rocket taking off (slowly at first and speeding up over time) rather than a real-life jump (higher initial velocity slowing down and eventually reversing at the peak).