1. Unity 5.6 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We've introduced thread tags, search within a thread and similar thread search. Read more here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Learn how you'll soon be able to publish your games to China in four simple steps with Xiaomi. Sign up now for early access.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Get further faster with the Unity Plus Accelerator Pack, free for new Unity Plus subscribers for a limited time. Click here for more details.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The launcher is currently pulling earlier versions of the content packages which may have errors, see post.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. We've released our first Timeline Experimental Preview, our new tool for creating cutscenes and more! To check it out click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out all the fixes for 5.5 in patch releases 1 & 2.
    Dismiss Notice

5.6 released

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by SaraCecilia, Mar 31, 2017.

  1. 3d_Artist1987

    3d_Artist1987

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Posts:
    487
    Any news on mobile webgl?
     
  2. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,540
    Still no patch 1? delayed?
     
  3. icampomanes

    icampomanes

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    I hope the patch is released soon, having some problems with particles artifacts here.
     
  4. AnneSchmidt

    AnneSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    417
    So, I just built two versions of the same project:
    • the game works flawlessly in the editor,
    • le standalone PC version works flawlessly too,
    • the WebGL version doesn't work at all.
    Bug report: 901938
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2017
  5. rh73

    rh73

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    There's 2017 beta 1 in case you haven't noticed.
     
  6. icampomanes

    icampomanes

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    We don´t want to go with betas, we want solutions to the 5.60f3 released version.
     
  7. marf

    marf

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    120
    Same problem here! Items in scroll rect instantiated through script are not visibile!
     
  8. AnneSchmidt

    AnneSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    417
    Console message in developement build says "cannot find file", when I click on "English" or "Français".

    Capture.JPG
     
  9. isostopy

    isostopy

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Hi everyone! Great Unity 5.6 but I'm having some troubles with new native Cardboard.

    I have been working with Cardboard SDK Package to create VR experiencies and I have been using UI - Screen Space Overlay Canvas for creating buttons in order to disable VR-Mode, go back to main menu, and set up different options, but with the new Unity 5.6 version the UI seems to dissapear under the stereo split cardboard image. Using the Cardboard SDK Package I could set my UI elements over the split screen, but with the new native way the UI Screen Space Overlay is hidden. In spite of this, for example if I have a UI button and touch where it is, it works, but is hidden.

    I don't know if anyone else has the same issue or has find another way for doing this.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  10. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Product Community Manager Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    633
    Yes, it got delayed due to the Easter holidays, but if all goes well it should be released today.
     
  11. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Product Community Manager Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    633
  12. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Product Community Manager Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    633
  13. petersx

    petersx

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    Hello,

    Unity 5.6.0p1 fast test:

    good news: cloth is working again :)
    bad news: Image Effects in scene window - still not working :(
     
  14. icampomanes

    icampomanes

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Agree. Same here.
     
  15. marf

    marf

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    120
    Same problem also after patch 5.6.0p1 ...
     
    yuliyF likes this.
  16. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    924
    regressions and bugs in p1:
    1. 100% crashes on project load (902855)
    2. graphics look totally different in p1, PBR seems dead - unusable (902860)
    3. collab takes forever to process newly imported project, possibly shader generation
    4. bug report lacks cancel upload button that doesn't erase the report
    5. bug reporter hangs forever when internet disconnects temporarily (902858)
    6. lighting page info layout takes over 1/2 of the lighting panel (902522)
    f3:
    IMG_08042017_011227_0.png

    p1:
    Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 7.22.16 PM.png
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2017 at 3:24 AM
  17. TalhaDX

    TalhaDX

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    76
    Lot of good things in this newer version. I am shifting to Unity 5.6 today.
     
  18. AnneSchmidt

    AnneSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    417
    Hi,

    5.6.0f3: after building a project for standalone PC, development build, automatic profiling and script debugging options enabled, I get the following message in console:

    The message pops up three times when I click on the "Quit" button in order to quit the game. The game does quit without complaining.

    The code is:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.     public void QuitGame ()
    2.     {
    3.         Application.Quit ();
    4.     }
    Is that a bug of some kind?
     
  19. Dennis_eA

    Dennis_eA

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    221
    This looks like GI isn't working properly?
    Same issue happens (since ages) when you reload a scene with a script inside the editor.

    Are you loading / opening the scene manually?

    Lot of bugs that make it more or less unusable for me..
     
  20. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    924
    nah that was auto graphics API that is broken on mac, fix = turn that off.
     
  21. beefcubes

    beefcubes

    Joined:
    Friday
    Posts:
    2
    Does the baked lightmap from 5.6 can be used in 5.5? Since it is more now easy to preview the baked lightmaps in 5.6 because of Progressive lightmapper.
     
  22. DMCH

    DMCH

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    38
    Experiencing a severe performance drop on upgrading from 5.3.3 -> 5.6.0. Twice as many batches, three times as many setpass calls. See attached. On windows 8.1

    5.3.4.jpg
    5.6.0.jpg
     
  23. Tzan

    Tzan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Posts:
    451
    But there are also twice as many triangles.
    Its like everything is on screen twice.
     
  24. DMCH

    DMCH

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    38
    Good call. Was focused too much on draw calls, will have another look at it.
     
  25. DMCH

    DMCH

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    38
    With lights disabled, it drops to 289K triangles. Is it normal for lights to affect tri count to that extent?
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2017 at 12:46 AM
  26. Tzan

    Tzan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Posts:
    451
    I just checked on my scene.
    I only have one light with Forward render.
    I shut it off and the triangle count dropped in half.
    So maybe you added more lights to the scene after you switched to 5.6?
     
  27. DMCH

    DMCH

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    38
    Thanks for checking it out. No, I didn't add any new lights. The scene starts out with roughly the same number of tris as in 5.3.3, then roughly doubles very soon after starting. I've noticed skinned mesh renderers with around 15K triangles + 2 materials have around 80K triangles + 30 setpass calls, with GI disabled and just one directional light in the scene. I did merge these, and am starting to wonder if that's part of the problem. Either way, I think I need to revert to 5.3.3
     
  28. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    654
    Had a major problem with 5.6 and anything before that to 5.5.2 where meshes were combined in the editor making it impossible to move gameObjects.