Search Unity

3D scan mesh + basic game engine

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MaxenceDK, May 1, 2012.

1. MaxenceDK

MaxenceDK

Hi everyone,
    I'm new here so I'm introducing myself quickly. I'm a French designer based in Chicago, doing lots of digital things, interested in lots of new digital things and especially mixing these things together. If I was better in code I would consider myself as a creative technologist but I still have to learn a lot I guess.

I'm working a lot with kinect and point clouds and I would like to create a very basic game engine, FPS style, inside a 3D scan previously recorded with the kinect.
    Imagine a MUCH simpler version of this : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UXZO_AWQxg
    Ideally, I would be interested to embed the 'game' into a browser like these http://unity.multiplayer3d.com/

My question is more technical than anything else at this point as I can't afford to spend weeks working on this - and I'm a total noob :)
    I'm already able to capture 3D scans with kinect then importing the point clouds into MeshLab. If needed I have a couple of friends/colleagues mastering 3DS Max (if it helps, maybe..).
    About the 'game', even having the possibility to navigate in the 3D scan with basic gravity (not a fly mode) and FPS control (move, crouch, jump) that would be awesome and a good motivation for continuing the project and create a real gameplay.

Any comment is welcome, thanks a lot.

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

Is this Unity-related in any way?

--Eric

3. npsf3000

npsf3000

If you give unity3d the models in a game friendly format, then sure it's a piece of cake to add in a simple controller to allow the user to walk around in U3D.

The hard part is taking point clouds and turning them into useful models - but it sounds like you have got that covered.

4. Noisecrime

Noisecrime