Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Yet another savegame aproach

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by LtRegBarclay, Nov 28, 2015.

1. LtRegBarclay

LtRegBarclay

Description;

Hi there. I would like to start another discussion about programming savegames and loading them.
    I have an idea on how to do it and would like to get some feedback about this. Are my ideas a possible way or am I missing a lot of important things? I am very new to Unity, but programming Java for over 15 years now. So my approach is in C#.

What´s out of scope:

I already made the save and load dialogues. So UI is not of interest.

The project:
    The game is a top down dungeon crawler. There are statically placed items to the scene, which can be collected to the players inventory. And there will of course be enemies placed in the scene.

The idea:
    I dont have to persist the whole scene. It is already persisted and can simply be loaded. All I need to save (as far as i think), is changes to the scene:

- Which items were collected (destroyed in scene, which leads to adding it to the inventory)
    - Which enemies are already dead (destroyed in scene)
    - What is the players position, health, status
    - What is in the players inventory

My aproach:
    I am using System.IO.FileStream, BinaryFormatter and serialize/deserialize.
    Every Object in unity has some Unique ID (GetInstanceID())
    So when a save process is started,
    - I search for all Objects with Tag "Item" inside the scene
    - I get their ids, save them comma-separated as string in a SaveGameEntity
    - Same is done with creatures...

Later when testing the load functionality I tried
    - Deserialize the savegame and get the ids
    - Load the clean level with Application.LoadLevel()
    - Then search for Objects with Tag "Item" again in the new scene