Search Unity

Xwing Something (working title that rhymes)

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by dovonobob, Mar 18, 2014.

1. dovonobob

dovonobob

Here's some screenshots of my Xwing/Rogue Squadron project. Been doing it about a couple of months now, got quite a bit of the core programming side of things done like ship movement/firing, AI, Gamecontrollers, collision damage, destrucible ship models etc.

This is my first attempt at a game, been messing about learning how to make games for the past couple of years in my own spare time and decided it's finally time to put it into practice. I've taught myself programming (somehow) so not experienced in it any stretch of the imagination but I've managed to write everything I've done so far, no copying pasting of other people's code.

Basically I've created everything with own dirty bare hands so far (apart from the Star Wars models). Graphics wise its all placeholder stuff so far so plenty of use of stock particle effects that arn't particuliary great :)

Just to clarify, this is more a project to put into practice what I know and also a further learning tool for myself, I won't be selling this or making any money from it it will be totally free. (obviously I get sued by old Mickey Mouse if I do try to make any money out of it)

still, have a gander at some rather bland screenshots of some early builds running in the editor and let me know what you think:

Last edited: Mar 18, 2014
  2. JscriptFless

JscriptFless

Dovonobob, It looks like it will certainly look great when it's completed. I've always loved the Star Wars series, and I'll hopefully be having a play around with this in the future! [When it's completed of course] :)

3. dovonobob

dovonobob

Cheers man I'm quite shocked how far ive got in quite a short space of time. Pretty happy with it so far so fingers crossed it might materialise one day in a playable state :)