Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[WIP] Up the Rabbit Hole (3rd person adventure/platform game with a little artificial life)

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by eelstork, Oct 6, 2014.

1. eelstork

eelstork

Usagi no Charade, a.k.a Up the Rabbit Hole, is my pilot project for developing with Unity.

This is a third person adventure/platform game that started 3-4 months ago as a series of experiments recorded in my unity tech blog and my youtube.

I am designing this platform game as a microcosm involving live organisms and smart(er) AIs

About me: previously I released several games on the iPhone/iPad; before doing this I worked with a couple of companies as a scripting platform architect and game framework builder. So, I'm a game system builder who learned (the hard way) the difference between building systems and building games.

Today my focus was on tweaking the day-night cycle and experimenting with solutions to break down my level file as I want bigger ground meshes and the importer easily chokes on these (big level file with lots of big meshes = slow ).

Living organisms... ? I'm chewing on this whenever I find time:

You can try the w.i.p on Wooglie, in their dev section.

I'm responsible for the overall game concept / design; I write the code; I do level design and a lot of modelling. However several artists kindly help with this project, notably with concept art, animation and organic modelling.

Note: one motivation to track this here is that I hope to find people that want to do similar stuff (so, focusing on real-time / 3rd person 3D ) as I'm thinking of releasing the underlying APIs / framework and need sponsors. So, you can PM if you are interested or if you have work to offer in similar area.

I will update... maybe every 2/3 days, at least weekly I think.

2. eelstork

eelstork