Search Unity

[WIP] Nimbatus

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Micha-Stettler, Jan 9, 2014.

1. Micha-Stettler

Micha-Stettler

Hello! My name is Micha Stettler, I'm a software engineer from Solothurn, Switzerland.
    I'm a long time stalker at the unity forums and worked on countless smaller projects but never managed to fully stick to an idea until now.
    Finally I managed to focus on a single project for about 5 months now. In order to keep my motivation up and get valuable early feedback it's time to present you Nimbatus, a game I am working on in my spare time.

Nimbatus is a game where you can build your own drones and deploy them to explore remote planets. On your journey you will encounter alien wildlife and find pieces of technology you can use to upgrade your drones. The planets are procedurally generated, fully destructible and virtually endless in size. The alien creatures you encounter get stronger the deeper you delve into the world.

The drone customization is one of the main parts of the game. You are able to build a drone from scratch and integrate newly discovered parts or completely rebuild your drone before you deploy it to a new planet.

As you can see my skills are more on the engineering side than on the art side, thats why I chose this simplistic artstyle with basic shapes and strong colours instead of realism and high detail. However my terrain module generates multiple-material meshes with uv coordinates, normals and tangents, therefore it's ready for high quality textures if I change my mind later on. ;)