Search Unity

[WIP] Dialog System

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by macorig, Sep 16, 2012.

1. macorig

macorig

Hi!

I am currently learning scripting in Unity and for my first big project I have started working on a dialog system, which I plan to expand on from project to project, always improving it a bit.
    The idea was to create a system that would allow easy dialog setup using a node-based custom editor. What I currently ended up with is a bit of a mess in some areas and I hope to streamline it as much as I can, but other than that I'm actually quite happy with the way it turned out so far, especially since it already contains most of the features I wanted it to have.

I'm not really an experienced programmer, which is why I would be really glad if I could maybe get some pointers or tips on what could have been done better, more elegant or performant.

Webplayer
    (press left mouse button or 'e' to start the dialog, to select an answer option use W/S or click on it)

Example Project

To edit a dialog click on the "Edit" button of the target's Dialog component in the inspector. You can navigate by holding down the middle mouse button or using the preview in the upper right corner (drag). To create a node choose a node type from the popup in the top left corner and then click "Create Node" - the new node will show up in the work area (but it might be hidden by other nodes). To create a connection between two nodes click "out/in" on two different nodes. Do the same for an already existing connection to delete it. To delete a node press the "X" button and uncheck the checkbox to disable one.
    The text field next to the "Save" button defines the dialog's start node, just enter a node's ID (the number in the node window's title).

If you want to apply changes you've made to the dialog you have to press "Save" and overwrite the XML-file you want to change.

To create a dialog you basically have the following types of nodes: