Search Unity

[WIP] 2D Modular Medieval Asset Package

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by benlchristianson, Jul 16, 2014.

1. benlchristianson

benlchristianson

Long story short, my goal is to make a finished 2D art asset package for sale on the Unity Store (and possibly other package selling websites). Just keep that in mind while you follow this, if you're not interested in reading all of whatever I'm about to write.

So I'm pretty new to unity, and I've been interested in understanding it and the 2D engine. After watching all of Unity's 2D tutorial videos (except for the character controller one, but I'll get to that when it's time to get to that), I feel like I've got a basic handle on how Unity 2D platformer games are assembled. To challenge myself to learn more about it, and to actually learn more about it, I've decided to make a modular 2D art asset package.

When I first started this, I thought about doing it purely tile based, with everything fitting into a perfect square, but now I think that would be too simple. I'd rather make all of the game's objects by their own parameters, free of a perfect grid.

After reviewing the kinds of 2D packages available for sale on the asset store, I think it would be best to design the package to best serve two different purposes:
    1. The package should look fine in unaltered png format, with no special unity effects being cast on it.
    2. The package should look good WITH special effects. Raycasting, normal mapping, you know. professional stuff. Stuff I'm currently trying to learn.