Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Will Unity Ever Support Apple's Swift?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by JadonBarnes, Jul 13, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JadonBarnes

JadonBarnes

Just a simple question really. I'm curious as to if Unity will ever implement Apple's Swift Language? If not, why?

Jessy likes this.
  2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

First of all you'd have to tell us why. I can see no benefit in doing so.

3. JadonBarnes

JadonBarnes

Really it could just be another language to use for people who feel they want to migrate from Xcode to Unity. Just something else besides C# and Javascript.

Honestly I think it would be cool to see a node based visual scripter native inside Unity. I have NO idea why that's not a thing yet.

4. Frostbite23

Frostbite23

Im not a swift programmer myself. It would be cool for unity to support more languages but that comes at a cost as compiling will be slower with more languages.

5. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

No, it comes at a cost of breaking Unity if you want IL2CPP. A better angle would be Unity having some sort of pluggable interface at a future date...

apsdsm and Polymorphik like this.
  6. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

I'd like to see Swift replace Unityscript. The syntax is similar enough that porting existing code wouldn't be hard, and it's a fully-developed language, whereas Unityscript development unfortunately stopped some years ago. In any case, there's no reason why adding languages would have any effect on compiling times.

--Eric

7. User340

User340

I think Swift would be an awesome addition to Unity. Plus it would be a perfect sales pitch to current Xcode developers.
    http://feedback.unity3d.com/suggestions/swift-support