Search Unity

Will i ever become an indie developer?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by imran-farooq, Aug 26, 2016.

1. imran-farooq

imran-farooq

I am trying to learn things from one year or so, believing that one day i will become an indie developer. When i started learning programming i came to know that i need to learn art/design plus little about sound editing as well. I don't know but i am confused i dont even know how to proceed forward. Should i stick with programming, do i need to learn Adobe Photoshop or what? What will make me an indie developer?

2. LeftyRighty

LeftyRighty

Getting to the end of a project, having it work and putting out there... (which is why I'm a "dabbler" :D)

The rest is more about what you are going to put out there (lack of art skills > not going to be photorealistic high poly model based etc.) or at least it's going to govern what you spend your budget buying from the asset store / freelancers / whatever.

Ryiah, dogzerx2, kittik and 1 other person like this.
  3. Deleted User

Deleted User

@LeftyRighty is right: just do something that works and you'll officially be an idie developer! Whatever you do is not important; you must finish something that works. Once you've done this, you'll feel more confident. ;)

theANMATOR2b and Dave-Carlile like this.
  4. imran-farooq

imran-farooq

What if i say i don't know what to do, i have few small games published on android store. Didn't get anything from them at all. I have some ideas but i don't have any skill other than programming right now. I don't have any budget or money as well. so what now?

5. GarBenjamin

GarBenjamin

In this case... get a job and forget about being an Indie. Just make games in your spare time for fun.

6. Dave-Carlile

Dave-Carlile

Sounds like you're already an indie developer to me. ;)