Search Unity

why no native python api?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by niiic, Jul 22, 2014.

1. niiic

niiic

Hi all,

I'm new to unity and the community, just signed up. I come from many years in the film vfx industry and now starting to poke around at what Unity can offer.

Python is the default scripting language amongst the usual suspects of 3D/2D applications and I am wondering why Unity3d has chosen not to pick it up? I've been searching for a native supported python api but I can't find anything. I find allot of post of people asking how they can wedge it into place but nothing officially supported.

From a little reading it appears C#, JavaScript and Boo are the chosen official supported languages. I'm wondering why python isn't considered? Is it a legacy thing or something based around the .net framework, I would have thought IronPython be a strong contender for this very thing? I can't see speed being an issue, python may be marinally slower but it makes up greatly in other ways.

There seems to be allot of native cross application work going on between Maya and Unity so I find it even more strange that Unity isn't picking up said syntax when it integrates so closely with maya infrastructure. Surely it isn't anything as trivial as a disagreement on design?

Really interested to know why if anyone can answer it.

Thanks,
    Nick.

2. StarManta

StarManta

I can only speculate, only someone within Unity could give the real answer.

The compatibility with Mono is going to be the single strongest factor in play here. Skimming IronPython's site, one thing that jumped up at me:
    Earlier version of Unity had an older version of Mono, and so there would have been a lot of caveats and gotchas when using Python in those versions of Unity. As the three scripting languages haven't changed since 1.x, it's possible that they simply haven't considered the possibility of adding another language since then.