Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Which Software/Tool is used for creating Game Objects?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by inblueswithu, Jun 27, 2013.

1. inblueswithu

inblueswithu

Hi,

I'm new to Unity. While I was watching some tutorials in the website (Unity) I came across something which says that Game Objects are created outside Unity (Not primitive types like Sphere, Cylinder etc) like Person, Hand, Yo-Yo etc.

I would like to know:
    • Which Tools are used to create these Game objects outside Unity?
    • Which are most compatible for Unity importing?
    • Which are popular?
    • Which are easy or we can call for Rapid building?
    I might have sounded little different/ambiguous/OpenEnded. You can correct me as I'm a beginner here :)

Thanks in Advance,
    inblueswithu

2. XGundam05

XGundam05

A GameObject is a collection of Components and other GameObjects, and is created within Unity. Specifically, GameObject is a class within the Unity engine. The objects themselves can be created within the Unity editor or via code. The models, textures, sounds, etc. are created in external applications.

For creating the Assets (models, textures, text, sounds, etc.), nearly any editing program for the given type of asset should work.

3. inblueswithu

inblueswithu

XGundam05, then take models textures, Which are those popular in the community?

4. XGundam05

XGundam05

Honestly it boils down to personal preference and finances. Blender, for modelling, is free and quite powerful. For texture work, Blender has a 3D painting option (I've not used it yet), or you can use something like GIMP (which, again, is free).