Search Unity

Where to Start? (Yes it's still just a dream) (MMORPGs)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by FitnessRegiment, Jul 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FitnessRegiment

FitnessRegiment

Ok before replying:
    - It can't be done
    - Start with games like snake or android games
    - Start with simple games
    - Start simple
    - Don't do big projects
    etc...

I know these things, so don't post them please.

If someone where to want to eventually, after years of learning create an MMORPG, not alone of course, what course should they take?

Let's say I have no knowledge of coding, 3D Works, Animation, Rigging, Physics engines and more. What would I need to learn, and what tools would I need?

I have always had a dream of making an MMORPG, it's a specific one, large open-world type game. Player controlled.

Tools I have and will learn to use:

- All Adobe Products (Not really necessary for game making but still useful)
    - Maya / 3DS Max / MODO / MARI / Blender
    - Unity (ofc)

Now let's say I can get these, pre-made, and just edit them to my liking:
    - 3D Assets including animated, statics, environmental and more
    - Fluid renders like water, smoke, rain and more
    - A lot of Static buildings, assets and more
    - Characters, animals and more animated, rigged, modelled and textured

What else would I need? What skills do I need? What do I actually need to learn to start making a game from somewhere?

If I had 100,000$ to spend over the course of 2 years into this project who would I hire? A programmer?

Now my idea was to start learning while producing content that I can use in the game, by this I mean for example, if I know I will need a specific sky or particle system in the game, I learn by making it from tutorials, then save it for later use for the project and move on another asset I will need.

Any ideas?

PS: