Search Unity

What not to learn in coding tutorials.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by jimzepellin, Aug 28, 2014.

1. jimzepellin

jimzepellin

I think this has been asked before and i tried searching the forum but I couldn't think of a simple way to write the question so didn't find an answer.
    Anyway. I'm new to coding and I was looking at lengthy coding tutorials and had a thought.

Coding for games may not use the full gamut of whatever language you are using. So the questions is, is that the case? Is there parts of C#, for example, I should ignore. Or, should I just be learning everything?
    I just thought there's no point in concentrating on learning stuff that may be useless at the moment. I'm not saying that I wouldn't learn the stuff. I just want to streamline my time and concentrate on the stuff I need.

Here's the stuff I thought I'd go through https://buckysroom.org/videos.php?cat=15

Thanks for any help.

2. RoryScanlan

RoryScanlan

I think you should go through the entire tutorial, you could pick up some very usefull c# stuff.
    I myself learnt c# through coding game examples but as soon as i get to uni im sure i will have to start from the begining again and im sure i will learn stuff that i didnt know before that could help me.

And i also used bucky room as a reference so if i got stuck with a specfific part of c# i would go to bucky's room or unity docs.

3. Limeoats

Limeoats

You don't need to know the most advanced concepts in C# to make a game in Unity.
    Does it help to know them? Absolutely. I use some advanced C# techniques while developing my game and not only does it improve performance, but it makes the code must cleaner and also allows for some better functionality.

I'd recommend going through the entire tutorial, paying closest attention to the core concepts. Once you reach the advanced topics, look through them and understand that they exist, but you don't necessarily need to learn them at the moment.

4. frosted