Search Unity

What do I do with my great game Idea?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by BingoBob, Feb 26, 2016.

1. BingoBob

BingoBob

I've been playing video games for the last 20 years of my life and I'm starting to find that I am very picky. It's extremely hard to find a game that I find interesting anymore. So my solution is, why don't I just make my own dream game? for a while I used D&D as a dungeon master to get my friends together and payout my own game designs. I've written several documents describing my game design mechanics and essentially my dream video game. BUT I don't know how to execute any of it. I've messed around with Blender and Unity and researched what assets I would need to execute this plan but I just lac the skill and experience. And I really don't want to do all that work.

Are there developers out there who are looking for in depth game designs and are willing to buy these Ideas? or work with me while we create this masterpiece?

2. GarBenjamin

GarBenjamin

What you can do is first commit to learning a skill. You can choose to learn programming, 2D graphics & animation, 3D graphics & animation or Sound Artist (Music & Sound FX creation). Those are the core skills needed. So choose the one that interests you the most and commit to learning it the best you can.

Then you can check out some of the many dedicated sites out there to find people to help you:

Teamups
    Indie Teamup
    Ludust
    DevelTeam

Disclaimer: Keep in mind I have not used any of these. I just stumbled upon them at some point while researching something game related.

Good luck!

Ryiah, aer0ace and JoeStrout like this.
  3. JessieK

JessieK

No one wants to "buy" ideas just so you know, no company or single dev needs game ideas, cause we all have that "dream game" otherwise we wouldn't be trying to make games because its such hard work.

Now if you want people to work WITH you there are two different options you have