Search Unity

What can i use in my asset? Melee combat system

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by HKSpadez, Oct 17, 2014.

1. HKSpadez

HKSpadez

Hey guys,

I been looking into making an asset which would replicate a melee combat system similar to dark souls since i noticed a lack of assets which support melee combat in the asset store but I was wondering what I was allowed to use..

I'm a coder so if possible I'd like to avoid having to make my own models but if I dont. what am i allowed to use in my asset for charcaters/weapons/animaitons? would i have to make my own or are there any animations/chars/models/weapons on the asset store I would be allowed to include in my own asset?

2. HKSpadez

HKSpadez

To clarify. I know I cannot use assets made by other people. but what about free assets like unity's robot dude?

or photon.. if i'm going to go over netcode in my asset?

3. primus88

primus88

What is marked as a free asset can be used in any other package (just take a look at all the animation / ragdoll systems on the asset store for example). Also, you can use any other payed model if you get permission from the person that made it (like Zerano suses models from Mister Necturus). Posibilities are endless, you just have to stat making friends or get creative with the free stuff :)

I don't know about Dark Souls, but I would really be interested in a melee system close to Mount and Blade :)

4. HKSpadez

HKSpadez

yeah. i was hoping to make a melee system where u simply specify 4 things in a XML file or in the inspector per attack

-animation
    -Input for attack
    -hitbox
    -active frames (leave at 0 if u want the hitbox to be active throughout the entire attack)

also. if i could include photon (which i wasnt sure about). I would include netcode and look into handling lag compensation for lag sensitive games

5. TonyLi

TonyLi