Search Unity

WebGL Networking error

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Zangamj, Apr 21, 2016.

1. Zangamj

Zangamj

My team has a test environment set up, and we want to get the networking side of things working before we go any further. I cannot show the code. But to start, I added a NetworkManager and HUD to an empty game object, checked use web sockets, added a NetworkIdentity to the player prefab and made it's movement code network aware. Upon running the client and attempting to connect to the server, I get the error "TypeError: webSocketInstances.hosts is undefined." I feel like I'm missing something obvious; I'm pretty new to Unity in general and I've never used web sockets, but it sounds to me like whatever javascript object that manages the web sockets isn't getting the host address? I guess it's worth noting that uncheching use web sockets and running a standalone build works with no issues.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

2. Zelek

Zelek

I'm running into this same error with my project's WebGL build, and haven't been able to figure out why yet. Going to be doing some further debugging these next few days to hopefully narrow it down. Please report back if you figure it out!

3. Zangamj

Zangamj

No luck, but I managed to make a working WebGL build of Unity's networking tutorial, just by toggling use web sockets. Not entirely sure what's different here that could cause the issue.

4. Zelek

Zelek

Yeah, no luck here either so far, unfortunately. I've spent a few days trying out various build settings, Unity versions, commenting out sections of code, etc. I'm probably going to have to start from a blank new project, get the web sockets working, and then start bringing code over until I figure out what specifically is triggering this error.

Just to check a few things we may have in common:
    • What Unity version? I'm on 5.3.4f1
    • Are you using Unity Cloud Build? I have been