Search Unity

[W.I.P] 2.5D Fighting Game Framework

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Mistermind, Sep 24, 2013.

?

Witch version would you be most interested in?

1. Basic

22 vote(s)
    19.6%
  2. Advanced

9 vote(s)
    8.0%
  3. Pro

21 vote(s)
    18.8%
  4. Pro (Source)

60 vote(s)
    53.6%
  1. Mistermind

Mistermind

New [RELEASED] Post: http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/218123-RELEASED-Universal-Fighting-Engine-(UFE) *

Hello my name is Daniel Esteves and I've been developing games for over 16 years. I have recently left the game company I helped build to try something new. I've always been a huge fighting game fan for as long as I can remember and for while, like most of you, I've struggled to create my own fighting game. With so many good toolkits in the asset store I realized someone needed to offer something for us too, the fighting game community.

Universal Fighting Engine (or U.F.E.) is a tool designed to help indie developers and small companies to make their own 2.5D fighting game using a full open source framework and easy to use visual editors. Those who studied fighting games have probably realized just how complex even the smallest thing is when dealing with balance and frame data. Charts upon charts of information you just can't see while playing, not to mention the highly complex aspects of hitboxes and unique physics. That's where Universal Fighting Engine comes in. UFE provides you with an open fighting game engine ready to use, highly customizable data frame and easy to use character and move editors similar to those used by Capcom and NeatherRealm to create games like Street Fighter 4, Killer Instinct, Mortal Kombat and Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3.

Currently UFE only supports 2.5D gameplay, but it will soon also support full 3D arena (Tekken, Dead or Alive, Virtual Fighter, etc.)

Here are just a few of the features UFE provide:
    - Support for Mecanim as well as Legacy animations
    - Special move execution system.