Search Unity

VS "Could not copy" error

Discussion in 'Windows' started by noethis, Sep 15, 2015.

  1. noethis

    noethis

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    129
    Trying to build to WSA 10 from VS2015 (Unity 5.2f3) and roughly half the time I'm receiving the following error when trying to build to device:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. 3>C:\projects\code\Unity\WSATest\Build\WSATest\WSATest.csproj(235,5): error MSB3027: Could not copy "C:\projects\code\Unity\WSATest\bin\UWP\ARM\Debug\Unprocessed\Assembly-CSharp.dll" to "C:\projects\code\Unity\WSATest\bin\UWP\ARM\Debug\Assembly-CSharp.dll". Exceeded retry count of 10. Failed.
    2. 3>C:\projects\code\Unity\WSATest\Build\WSATest\WSATest.csproj(235,5): error MSB3021: Unable to copy file "C:\projects\code\Unity\WSATest\bin\UWP\ARM\Debug\Unprocessed\Assembly-CSharp.dll" to "C:\projects\code\Unity\WSATest\bin\UWP\ARM\Debug\Assembly-CSharp.dll". The requested operation cannot be performed on a file with a user-mapped section open.
    3. 3>C:\projects\code\Unity\WSATest\Build\WSATest\WSATest.csproj(235,5): error MSB3021:
    It seems to have to do with possibly having the build folder open in Explorer recently? If I close the folder and wait a bit then the error usually (but not always) goes away. Wondering if it also has to do with the project being on the C:\ and Windows 10 having issues with writing/permissions on C?
     
  2. Tomas1856

    Tomas1856

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3,900
    There's a know bug with Unity C# projects, unselect it in BuildSettingsWindow
     
  3. noethis

    noethis

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    129
    Thanks for the quick response. So if I uncheck that, does that mean it won't generate the needed *.csproj files for WSA or what exactly is that doing?
     
  4. Tomas1856

    Tomas1856

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3,900
    Those projects are optional, if you uncheck it, Unity will precompile Assembly-*.dll's.

    The primary purpose of that checkbox is to generate projects so you can easier debug scripts.