Search Unity

Visual scripting vs writing code

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by liortal, Aug 22, 2014.

1. liortal

liortal

Hello,

While i am a developer and i know how to write code, i am aware of many available visual scripting tools for Unity (uFrame, PlayMaker to name a few).

Unreal Engine 4 also includes the Blueprints system that looks like the common way to create the logic for game systems.

So, it seems that visual scripting tools have some place and can be a useful tool in the developer's arsenal.

Having said that, i keep hearing negative opinions of using visual scripting tools as part of the dev process (things like - "if you can code, stick to that", etc).

I have not used any of these tools yet, but i'd like to know from others' experience - what are they good for? can they be better than coding for specific tasks? and in general, what is your opinion or experiences with using visual scripting tools (uFrame, PlayMaker or any other that is good and that you've used).

p.s: I know this discussion is kind of "opinion based", let's try to keep it civilized and avoid any religious arguments (e.g: "visual scripting sucks!!! code rulez!!!!")

2. LightStriker

LightStriker

You can probably search this forum, I think this is one of those "beaten to death" topic.

I see this as follow, you split your behaviour in low level stuff, and in high level stuff. Low level, like path finding, AI behaviour, managers, animation handling, and the collection of gameplay specific MonoBehaviour should be in code.

For example, if you have to create trap that shot something, you should code it, and expose enough variable that a design can tweak it to its liking. Like a variable that define what the trap shot, its speed, rate of fire, damage, etc. In this case, it's simply too much of a pain to do in visual scripting properly.