Search Unity

Visual scripting in Unity

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kikoman, Mar 19, 2015.

1. kikoman

kikoman

Hello I am a games artist.
    My first published game was in 1997, in all the time since then I have never been able to code, I frankly hate it, I have spent many hours trying to debug even the most simple line of code, I guess a chap must except his own limits.That being said I am comfortable with highly technical process in lots of software and visual scripting.
    I think Unity is fantastic but I don't understand why there is no in house visual scripting system.
    Surely democratising games could include creating a solution for none coders, giving them the ability to express ideas and prototype without the need to learn a coding language.
    I don't need to write a shader from scratch or create code to light so why would I have to code camera controls etc.
    I know there is Playmaker and it is very elegant but the learning path is not part of Unitys learning path tutorials and so it makes the process difficult.
    Just an observation, a personal view that Unity is too code centric .

Last edited: Mar 19, 2015
  2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

You are welcome to try GameMaker or PlayMaker.

You'll find that ultimately any visual scripting tool is less flexible then straight code.

3. Ryiah

Ryiah

Visual scripting has been tried numerous times in the past by other companies but it simply never caught on. One part of the problem has been affordable tools, but a big part is simply that most visual scripting systems lack flexibility and trying to add it in often results in killing any advantages it had over a more traditional coding approach.

Blueprint is one of the more successful attempts at visual scripting, but at the end of the day it is still basically coding only with a different appearance. I definitely love the approach it has taken though.

Or uScript

4. Teila

Teila