Search Unity

Video courses to start learning game art?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mrtkhosravi, Sep 1, 2015.

1. mrtkhosravi

mrtkhosravi

Hi. I want to learn about artistry needed for games. I am an experienced developer but I know nothing about how to make my game look good. Every visual improvement I do is trial and error and I don't like it.

What I need is a list of course titles that are essential for a game artist. I am NOT talking about learning unity graphics (i.e. shaders, lightmapping, image effects, probes,...). What I need is art concepts like color principles, elements composition, scene lighting, look and feel, and anything related to 3d game art. I am particularly interested if someone could provide a list of course titles that could be learned from ground to top.

2. Kellyrayj

Kellyrayj

I can't think of a course list that will help you learn what you want to know. It's my experience that these come about through trial and error. And everyone's stuff stinks when they start out. I highly recommend these videos:

"The guy who painted this was a loser"

"The Gap"

Here's a solid resource for 2D digital art:
    https://cgcookie.com/learn-concept/

And practice making things that you like. Replicate the stuff you like to look at. Verbatim. You'll eventually make it to where you want to be. It's a long road. But very highly rewarding.

mrtkhosravi likes this.
  3. Martin_H

Martin_H

Art principles are universal. Leave out the "game" aspect when you search for learning material unless you google technical stuff like normal map baking. What you need is art fundamentals. Pretend you want to learn how to paint, because that's essentially what you want to learn if you say you want to to learn about lighting, composition, color etc..