Search Unity

Valve's Source Engine 2 is free too

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by thxfoo, Mar 4, 2015.

1. thxfoo

thxfoo

2. thxfoo

thxfoo

I hope this means we finally get HL3...

3. sphericPrawn

sphericPrawn

I love Valve, but what is the versatility like? Source is a great engine for its specific use, but what are the major releases using it? HL2, Left 4 Dead series, Portal series, tons of mods etc. Not saying it's useless as a versatile engine, and this is the 2nd iteration, but it's definitely unproven in games that aren't FPS.

4. angrypenguin

angrypenguin

More importantly, when will it be available?

randomperson42 likes this.
  5. nipoco

nipoco

I don't care about Half Life. I want Left for Dead 3!

Regarding Source. Definitely interesting. Let's see what they bring to the table.

ogike and tango209 like this.
  6. DoinSoftware

DoinSoftware

My biggest concern about Source2 is its scripting language. I'm a C# developer and have been for close to 15 years now, since the language came out. I'm conversant in C++ but I'm far less productive with it. I'd even say most people are less productive in C++ but that's a "religious" discussion for another forum. One thing that I love about Unity is its use of Mono & C# for scripting. It's very familiar and doesn't require me to shift my brain when going from concept to code.

Another concern I have is the tooling. Valve has been very good with capabilities but not very good on ease of development. The best person to judge that comparison in my opinion is Garry Newman, author of Garry's Mod and Rust, the former under Source and the latter under Unity, now Unity 5. He frequently talks about how different things are now to then.