Search Unity

Unity RPC host migration.

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Christian-Tucker, Jan 24, 2015.

1. Christian-Tucker

Christian-Tucker

I'm not very experienced when it comes to the Unity3D Networking implementation, as I've always used my own custom implementations, however for my current hobbyist project I feel like using the built-in networking will serve a good purpose.

The over-all idea of the game is going to be 2~16 players in an on-line match, similar to how most FPS games are played, but this will be an action-combat game-style, in which all logic is going to be handled by the host. This of-course will create the "unfair-advantage" that the host will get, because of faster reactions, and always being on-point.. but what can you do.

The thing is, I don't want to just "end the game" when the host decides their done, instead I'd like to migrate hosts, but I have no idea how to go about doing this, honestly I don't have a clue how to go about ANY of this while using the Unity networking, but I'm about to dive in head-first into all of that. The concept from the last few things I've read seems very simple, the only thing that bothers me is not having the server/client separated. I enjoy being able to know that all data is going in/out of the server, instead of having to distinguish on the spot. Guess I'll have to make some dedicated servers, eh?

Anyway, host migration, how?

I understand the concept of creating a collection of connection data, but I have no idea how to go about transferring the hosts, making sure everyone gets transfered to the correct host, etc. The last thing I'd want is for a game to get split into 3 different games because the host got disconnected.

2. AustinRichards

AustinRichards