Search Unity

Unity, Is this safe waters for buoyantly handicapped ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ZiggyPops1, Jun 18, 2014.

1. ZiggyPops1

ZiggyPops1

I have no experience in programming or game design to say the least; but i would love to start doing game development and Unity looks cool to say the least. Am i too ambitious, too much of a dumb clueless optimist (which I have been known to be), trying to swim out in deep waters before I can doggy paddle in that blow up pool in the back yard?

1 Is the Unity platform a good place to start as a TRUE NOVICE?
    2 If not, then where should I get my cherry popped?

2. oliv897

oliv897

I started with Gamemaker... it is not that great really don't expect to be making games like on the market today but for me it was a good introduction to Game Design and the software my University happened to use as well sooo...

https://www.yoyogames.com/studio

Check them out, looks like they have gotten a bit more advanced since i last used it myself lol

3. Arowx

Arowx

1, Yes it's modular and it's drag n' drop interface and ability to run in the editor lets you play as you learn.
    2, Just dive in -> Learn Unity

4. TylerPerry

TylerPerry

I think Unity is fine for a beginner, as long as your willing to persist and realise that making even a simple game like pong is not easy.

Good luck :D

5. Dabeh

Dabeh

Absolutely no. Unity is a good place to start, you chose well.

6. Kellyrayj

Kellyrayj

I started exactly like you! New nothing about game design or development. Unity was a good choice for me.

7. StarManta

StarManta