Search Unity

Unity Free Bloom

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by PhantomKnight, Sep 27, 2012.

1. PhantomKnight

PhantomKnight

Current Version: 2.0

Hello! I am a single working developer that recently got the idea that Unity Free needs some bloom post process action. So I started up a project that solves this.

The way it works is the camera sends out a number of rays (The number depends on how high quality the bloom is set to be) and detects if it hit nothing (Sky), a normal object (No bloom), or a bloom object (Glowing game object).
    If the ray for pixel 1 hits nothing, then it renders that pixel as the sky color which is defined in the inspector. If it hits a normal object, then it's rendered as black, or nothing in other words. If it hits a bloom object, (An object with the Bloom Object component attached) then it renders that pixel as the color defined in that objects Bloom Object component. Brightness is also an option. After that texture is finished being processed, it's blurred by a number (In pixels) also set in the inspector.

Light Shafts:

Bloom:

All of it is right here:
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/99046525/PostProcesses2.0.unitypackage

Let me know what you think and what other features you guys would like in this! Note that this isn't only going to be bloom. I'm probably going to add DOF as well if I can.

If you ask me to make a post process effect, make sure it's one that doesn't require sharp images (Twirl, Fish Eye, Color Correction, etc). DOF will probably just use an alpha map to blend the original scene with the blurred texture. Thanks!

NOTE: The effects only takes place once the game is running.
    NOTE 2: Using a quality level over 150 is usually not acceptable. For blooming, you could easily get away with a quality of 40.

Last edited: Jan 17, 2013
  2. TehWut

TehWut

Actually looks really nice! Look forward to seeing updates.

3. IcyPeak

IcyPeak

Indeed, it does. Tagging this to keep an eye on it.