Search Unity

Unity for PlayStation®4 Released

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Aurore, Jun 16, 2014.

1. Aurore

Aurore

Director of Real-Time Learning

jpthek9 and BrandyStarbrite like this.
  2. Steve-Tack

Steve-Tack

So I assume a PS4 dev kit is required to develop games with that?

3. Tim-Cannell

Tim-Cannell

Unity Technologies

Hi,

Yes, you need to be registered as a developer with Sony (links are in the blog), you can then purchase a PS4 dev kit from them and download the special version of Unity for PS4.

Tim - Unity Platform Team

4. Steve-Tack

Steve-Tack

OK, thanks. I don't suppose getting a rough idea of the dev kit cost is allowed to be shared? It's too bad, it seems that you have to go through a lot of steps just to get access to that important information. As a hobbyist, I can't justify spending the $$$ if it costs as much as 6 or 7 consumer PS4's (which is my impression).

5. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Congrats on release, Unity!

As a hobbyist, you will know there's expensive and cheap hobbies :)

6. Steve-Tack

Steve-Tack

Hehe, indeed. What I should have said is "I can't *reasonably* justify spending the $$$." I can unreasonably justify just about anything. :)

7. XCO

XCO

This is very exciting, but someone told me that people are already devolving games for XBOX ONE with UNITY and I was wondering where is the info on XBOX one if anyone has it ?

Sorry I know this is the PS4 thread i just couldn't find the XBOX one... And I would love to know if you can already dev for XBOX ONE with unity ?!? :D

8. Steve-Tack

Steve-Tack

There's an ID@Xbox program that a chosen few have been developing games for. They've said that eventually retail/consumer Xbox One consoles will be usable as dev kits, and presumably they'll be opening up the program to more developers. It could end up being a far more accessible platform than PS4, depending on how things go.

XCO likes this.
  9. FuzzyQuills

FuzzyQuills