Search Unity

Unity for Absolute Beginners

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by k3D-Junkie, Jun 26, 2014.

1. k3D-Junkie

k3D-Junkie

Hi all,

It's me again, Sue Blackman, and I am pleased to tell you that my second Unity book is now out! The title is Unity for Absolute Beginners (Apress, publishers). Don't be mislead by the title, this is not a 'dummies' book. But this book does assume that you may have little or no experience with game development, scripting, 2D or 3D assets.

As with my first book (1st and 2nd editions) the book is project based. This one is more mainstream, however, and takes you through the process of creating a querky little third person shooter game featuring a 'modified" garden gnome. It's full of key concepts, functionality and mayhem. It uses C# but if you prefer Unity's javaScript, we can help out here on the forum if you get stuck on converting code.

For those of you new to Unity, you will soon discover that Unity tends to make changes in each release that can make authoring for this great game engine, well, challenging. Bookmark this first post- I'll be adding errata, clarification, and later, changes required by new Unity releases. The book should be pretty solid from the start as I had a top-notch tech reader this time around, our very own 'Dreamora', from the Unity forums. Thanks Marc!

Anyway, drop in and let me know if you find errors or confusing bits and I'll be happy to help if possible. And I always enjoy hearing how readers have taken the next step and have used what they have learned to create their own games!

Enjoy!
    -Sue

Kane C Hart likes this.
  2. Kane C Hart

Kane C Hart

For the lazy: http://www.apress.com/9781430267799

Looks really good. Been trying to spend more time learning Unity3D myself. Going to recommend it to a few friends and put it on my wishlist. Glad you are also doing it in C#.

shinatoX1 likes this.
  3. memiles

memiles