Search Unity

[Unity 5 version available] Runtime Mesh Batcher - Simple and affordable batching system

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by georgesdimitrov, Dec 16, 2014.

1. georgesdimitrov

georgesdimitrov

Hello there!

My name is Georges Dimitrov, I'm a music composer, professor, and indie video-game developer from Montreal, Canada. While working on my current game (an old-school dungeon crawler), I ran into the problem of draw calls related performance issues, because my levels are all constructed at runtime from Lua scripts. I found many great assets on the store, such as Mesh Baker, but all of them focused on tools to prepare your scene while in the Editor, including things like Lightmapping support, which I obviously didn't need.

So I developed a simple system for combining meshes, system which is designed and optimized for runtime usage, and put it on the Asset Store, as I think others might benefit from the performance improvements, which were fantastic in my game, bringing some scenes from over 30K draw calls down to an acceptable range of a thousand or two, while more than doubling frame rate.

I plan to actively continue development on this project; I have already updated the script to v1.1, adding for example the option of uncombining meshes (see changelog below). If you have any questions or comments, don't hesitate to post!

Asset store link: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/26200

Asset Description

Runtime Mesh Batcher is a script extension for Unity which provides an affordable, easy and fast way to combine multiple individual meshes at runtime, reducing draw calls and improving performance.

While other solutions available on the Asset Store offer greater in-editor capabilities and much more options, this script is specifically designed to provide a plug-and-play solution for games which create their environments procedurally at runtime.

• Clean and professional code.
    • Works with Unity or Unity Pro.