Search Unity

Unity 5.3.1f1 - Particle system errors - Invalid AABB result / IsFinite(d)

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by gonzorob, Dec 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nasos_333

    nasos_333

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    13,349
    If the game already uses a lot of threading, would it still be faster ? Is there an option to batch instead of multithread for example (through code perhaps ?). I think batching when emitting meshes would be essential though (especially for effects that may have static particles emitted once).

    The isFinite issue and the Out of view frustum issues are both happening in the water reflection script in camera.render(), so there is definitly some connection and a more global issue, so i think it is worth investigating, also now it has been creating more errors (the isFinite for example) in relation to particles, which could show both a missing check in the render() and a particle going out of bounds issue.

    Thanks
     
  2. diekeure

    diekeure

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    221
    Since webgl does not support threading, does this mean that particle system performance took a hit on that platform?
     
    Simoense likes this.
  3. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
  4. nasos_333

    nasos_333

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    13,349
    I have tested the new v5.3.2 with Sky Master ULTIMATE and Water 4 reflection and i still get the "!IsFinite(outDistanceForSort)" issue when particles come in the scene.

    This error did not happen in Unity v5.3.0 so i hope will be solved soon.
     
  5. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
    The particle fixes are in 5.3.2p1 which is not out yet. 5.3.2f1 came out today but does not contain those fixes. It also sounds like the errors you getting are a new problem and not related to the particle issues.
    This is the current case which is still being looked at http://issuetracker.unity3d.com/issues/screen-position-out-of-view-frustum-error-printed-non-stop
     
  6. nasos_333

    nasos_333

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    13,349
    It only happens when particles come in, so i suppose they could be related. (the "!IsFinite" issue) considering also the new changes in the particle system and that it did not happen before e.g. in v5.3.0

    The frustum errors are not related to particles only, they point to the same code line though so there may be some connection (camera.Render() function in Water 4 reflection script) and i had those since Unity 5 release i think.

    Thanks for the information, i will wait for the patched version to see if it is fixed.

    Is there any way to eliminate these non destructive internal errors from appearing in the log ? So it does not create any slow downs.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2016
  7. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    6,334
    [QUOTE="karl.jones, post: 2483824, member: 834128"The isFinite issue is an assertion that is caused when the AABB is incorrect. Seeing this message is not guaranteed to be the particle bug which was fixed in 5.3.1p1 so if you are still seeing it then it could be something else.[/QUOTE]

    Why are assertions turned on in the versions you ship? Is it to enable people to submit bug reports about under the hood problems?

    It would be nice if more of the assertions actually told us what was the issue, and indicated if we should report them. When my console tells me "modifications.empty()" at random intervals, that's not really helping anyone.
     
  8. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
    Yes we do plan to improve our error messages. Some are not very helpful.
     
  9. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    It seems the patch is now out. 5.3.2p1!!
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  10. fidelsoto

    fidelsoto

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Posts:
    87
    Great!! Was it released ahead of schedule? Those particle issues were really annoying, thanks for the fixes!
     
  11. terravires

    terravires

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    103
    It's NOT fixed in 5.3.2p1

    Code (CSharp):
    1. IsFinite(outDistanceForSort)
    2. UnityEngine.Camera:Render()
    3. UnityStandardAssets.Water.PlanarReflection:RenderReflectionFor(Camera, Camera) (at Assets/Standard Assets/Environment/Water/Water/Scripts/PlanarReflection.cs:200)
    4. UnityStandardAssets.Water.PlanarReflection:RenderHelpCameras(Camera) (at Assets/Standard Assets/Environment/Water/Water/Scripts/PlanarReflection.cs:97)
    5. UnityStandardAssets.Water.PlanarReflection:WaterTileBeingRendered(Transform, Camera) (at Assets/Standard Assets/Environment/Water/Water/Scripts/PlanarReflection.cs:114)
    6. UnityStandardAssets.Water.WaterTile:OnWillRenderObject() (at Assets/Standard Assets/Environment/Water/Water/Scripts/WaterTile.cs:59)
    7.  
     
  12. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
    Thats a different bug.https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/issues/screen-position-out-of-view-frustum-error-printed-non-stop
     
  13. terravires

    terravires

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    103
    Sigh, then can we PLEASE have a stable build!??? I had to skip all of the fixes in 5.3.1 because of bugs, now looks like I have to skip 5.3.2.
     
  14. AMO_Noot

    AMO_Noot

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    5.3.2p1 sadly did not fix this issue at all. What's the deal, fellas? =(

    The only thing that's changed is that I actually get an additional error thrown into the mix:

    Converting invalid MinMaxAABB
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2016
  15. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
  16. AMO_Noot

    AMO_Noot

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2016
    karl_jones likes this.
  17. Chuckalicious

    Chuckalicious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Posts:
    51
    DUDE!! You are da man! That was exactly the issue I had and the resolution. Can't thank you enough.
     
    Simoense likes this.
  18. zelmund

    zelmund

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    confirm
    particles still broken
    correct me if i dont right, but i thing it was.... 6 patches fixing problems with particles :confused:
    all tools in asset store based on suriken is... broken...

    is there alternative for completely replacing internal particles?
     
  19. nasos_333

    nasos_333

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    13,349
    I hope v5.4 gets at least a month of public release as beta before the official release, since this version brings the most radical changes by far and has the potential to break things more than any other version imo (touching on multithreading with extra error handling, DX9 shaders etc)

    There are some non Shuriken packs, one is DX11 and the other is called Particle Field i think, i read in the forum this does not use Shuriken. Also there is cool free GPU particle work by Keijiro (which i may use as base for my own GPU particle system as well that will extend my Particle Dynamic Magic system later)

    Link: https://github.com/keijiro/KvantSpray
     
  20. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
    You using the patch ? 5.3.2p1 not 5.3.2f1
     
  21. zelmund

    zelmund

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    yes its 5.3.2p1
    we are team of developers (near 15 machines with unity), we have a project with weather and rain inside. and the rain is show us finite errors. same version of unity on different machines.

    unity was install from scratch in empty folder. not just replacing previous.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2016
  22. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
    Can you submit a bug report with an example project?
    Post the number and we will take a look
     
  23. zelmund

    zelmund

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    thx.
    atm we have 2 machines without any problems. we trying to understand what is going on. when we find our fish, we will report.
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  24. kideternal

    kideternal

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    Just to add my voice, I'm still seeing the same IsFinite spam in VR mode with 5.3.2p1. I don't have time to throw together a test package right now.

    The only difference is before the errors occurred when my player's Y was rotated between 0 and 90 degrees, and now it's more like ~288 to ~80 degrees.
     
  25. zelmund

    zelmund

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    same thing. rotating camera in some angle stop spaming errors
     
  26. superpig

    superpig

    Drink more water! Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Posts:
    4,657
    5.4 beta is already available to the public, albeit only those members of the public with a Pro license. Please do test it out if you can!
     
  27. AMO_Noot

    AMO_Noot

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    https://fogbugz.unity3d.com/default.asp?765796_voj44q71dv7e41gl

    It appears that our AABB IsFinite issue has been fixed, but not until the release of 5.4... which I'm assuming will be a month or longer, which is a long time to wait since we've already had to deal with the bad performance for a month.

    Is there any way we can get this fix in a patch release? Or at the very least, a workaround that allows me to use my particle systems?
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2016
  28. LAustralien

    LAustralien

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    I have downloaded the 5.3.2p1 and it fixed my "Invalid AABB a" and other similar errors. However, I now have a different compilation error which did not occur with earlier version of Unity.

    The error message I am getting is:
    Assets/Daikon Forge/DFGUI/Editor/dfScriptWizard.cs(200,39): error CS0117: `UnityEditorInternal.InternalEditorUtility' does not contain a definition for `AddScriptComponentUnchecked'

    I do realise that the issue is with the DFGUI asset from Daikon Forge which I bought on the Asset Store and I am also aware that this asset shows as "Deprecated" since Unity 5 was released. However, this error message did not occur prior to upgrading to 5.3.2p1. So before I re-write all my UI (which would be a ton of work for a single indie/ noobie developer :) ), any chance someone could let me know if they've seen such problem before and have managed to solve it. By the way, I have also emailed the Daikon Forge developer but I have yet to hear back from them.

    Many thanks for your help
     
  29. shawnblais

    shawnblais

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    324
    I can also confirm that 5.3.2p1 fixed all my issues with the crazy particle errors. Thanks guys!
     
  30. Raunchard

    Raunchard

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    5.3.2 also fixed this issue for me, merci.
     
  31. John-B

    John-B

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    1,262
    I'm seeing this problem in 5.3.1f1 (that's the latest version I see available for download). If I set the space to Local, I get no errors, but the particles will only play once, Play() does nothing after that. If I set the space to World, it plays correctly, but I get a stream of errors in the editor and while playing.
     
  32. AMO_Noot

    AMO_Noot

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    @John B

    The current unity version is actually 5.3.2
    https://unity3d.com/get-unity/download?ref=personal

    Try 5.3.2p1

    http://unity3d.com/unity/qa/patch-releases
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2016
  33. Baraff

    Baraff

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Posts:
    255
  34. John-B

    John-B

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    1,262
    When I download from that first link, I get an installer called: UnityDownloadAssistant-5.3.2f1.dmg, which is what I already have. I'll try the patch release.

    Oops, I misread the numbers. I saw the "f" and didn't notice the 2 in front of it.

    Update: 5.3.2p1 seems to have fixed the problem. The particles now play more than once, and there's no errors when I switch to World space.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2016
    karl_jones likes this.
  35. kideternal

    kideternal

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    I still see IsFinite() errors in both 5.4.0b3 and 5.4.0b4 when my player's rotation is from roughly 10 to 90 degrees.

    Plus there's a nice "flip the player upside-down" bug if you re-parent it.

    It would be excellent if a proper bug-fix for IsFinite made its way into 5.3.2, as there's no telling what other issues 5.4.0 will include. (Every release in the past 12 months has seemed to fix one thing and introduce a new breakage somewhere else!)
     
    montyfi likes this.
  36. BCJTools

    BCJTools

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    I'm assuming the "p" in the patches means it's for the Pro version or does it mean "patch"? I'm awaiting a fix on the personal version for the AABB dump. Seems a member above was able to apply it to the free version.
     
  37. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
    p is for patch. f is for final(or release), b is for beta and a for alpha.
    Patches can be downloaded from here and do not require a pro licence.
     
  38. BCJTools

    BCJTools

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks. The patch fixed the problem for my project too!
     
  39. Graph

    Graph

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    I can happily confirm that in 5.3.2p2 my problems seem to be solved :)
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  40. Tpmer

    Tpmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem! In the Tank tutorial.Do you fixed it?
     
  41. greenPadawan

    greenPadawan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same problem:(
     
  42. roger-wang

    roger-wang

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Good news. i will download 5.3.2p1.
    thanks share this information.
     
  43. greenPadawan

    greenPadawan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    This issue is resolved with version 5.3.2f1
     
  44. AMO_Noot

    AMO_Noot

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Posts:
    433
    I was still having troubles with 5.3.2p1 with the AABB spam.

    Weirdly, I recreated the troublesome particle systems from scratch, and NO errors have been popping up. I have no idea why that'd be the case since it's identical to the original prefab, but I'm not complaining. Many thanks for the fixes.
     
  45. xDavidLeon

    xDavidLeon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Posts:
    123
    This is NOT fixed in 5.3.2f1, and neither in 5.3.2p1.

     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2016
  46. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
  47. zelmund

    zelmund

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    437
  48. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,281
    Yes it seems to be related to reflections.
     
  49. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
  50. zelmund

    zelmund

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    i didnt. will test it in time, but i doubt that problem gone.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.