Unity 4.0 Beta available to all!

Discussion in 'Unity Gossip' started by Aurore, Nov 1, 2012.

  1. Neptune_Imaging

    Neptune_Imaging

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,688
    Wow, I love how useful tessellation is... now will this work on Skinned Meshes?
  2. cynel

    cynel

    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    733
    how do i use Mecanim
  3. Neptune_Imaging

    Neptune_Imaging

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,688
    On your model, click Configure Avatar
  4. cynel

    cynel

    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    733
    wheres configure avatar
  5. superpig

    superpig

    Top Pomeranian Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,542
    15 here :p
  6. Neptune_Imaging

    Neptune_Imaging

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,688
    In your hierachy, select the top level of your character model, and hit configure avatar after giving the model an animator component. I tested this on a model that I had and it allowed this functionality :)
  7. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    25,663
    OK, you win. ;)

    --Eric
  8. kingcharizard

    kingcharizard

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,134
    think i'll wait.. I am not big on beta testing... But good to see beta here already :) because the final should follow shortly after that.
  9. TylerPerry

    TylerPerry

    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,181
    Ironically, renaming the data file of a build will break it.

    This is great news :D Will this include IOS and Android(Providing I purchased it?)

    EDIT: I love the way on Android it is possible to make infinitely complex projects with the beta...
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012
  10. Tim C

    Tim C

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,468
    It's in RC now which means it's very close and we are ironing out the final issues. It's a good time to check for any things that may have broken your project and report them.
  11. TylerPerry

    TylerPerry

    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,181
    Does it come with new default shaders?
  12. Meltdown

    Meltdown

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,782
    Great. Was just worried mainly about registry entries etc.
    (Which are the usual culprits.)
  13. Meltdown

    Meltdown

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,782
    Is there a 'make coffee' button planned for release?
    Or is this only coming in 4.x
  14. Amon

    Amon

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    This is the worst version of Unity. It doesn't even come with a MakeWOWKilla or MakeAppStoreMillions plugin. What the hell is the point?
  15. TylerPerry

    TylerPerry

    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,181
    I know right? I clicked the build button but it just gave me some HTML document, where is my CODkiller?!?!?! NOT HAPPY UNITY!
  16. Ricks

    Ricks

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    How did you get the normal maps to work on terrain? Using a normalmap in the second texture slot seems to make no difference as I tried it :confused:
  17. jeffmorris1956

    jeffmorris1956

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    I tried to run the Mecanim Demo but some scenes don't work. The character fell through the ground in two scenes. I can't control the character in some scenes. The white text is hard for me to read.
  18. Ricks

    Ricks

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Ok, got it to work. The important thing is to create a custom material: shader->nature->terrain->bumped and add this shader to the terrain settings->basic terrain->material. Looks awesome!

    Attached Files:

  19. eskovas

    eskovas

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    808
    Seems like Unity broke all animations , i had to re-import every single animation. Other than that i'm not having any more problems. Loving the new preview window when previewing animations (It's the only place in Unity free that has real time shadows!! xD )

    You will have to assign a material to the terrain with the shader : Nature/Terrain/Bumper Specular . Note that normal maps don't work with every lightmap type.
  20. Tiles

    Tiles

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,215
    Hm, for me it throws a Null Reference Error for every "if (controller.isGrounded)" line now. Same code worked and works perfectly in 3.5. Any ideas?
  21. kingcharizard

    kingcharizard

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,134
    Thats not good because i use that line of code often aswell
  22. Nanity

    Nanity

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    What are your platforms of interest (select all which apply)?

    I had to choose "Other" as linux is NOT listed :( Fuuuuuuuuuu
  23. HyeMyNameIs

    HyeMyNameIs

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    That does look great.
  24. Fishman92

    Fishman92

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,553
    That line of code never worked for me anyway.
  25. Tiles

    Tiles

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,215
    :D

    No, seriously. I am trapped by this. I need to check for is grounded. And it works in 3.5 and earlier without problems. So to repeat my quesiton, is there a solution? Is this a known issue, caused by some changings somewhere? What is the workaround?
  26. _Spanda_

    _Spanda_

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    141
    I can't even load Unity 4.0 beta! I installed Unity 4.0 with the downloaded one from the Unity Download page, I got the error "Unity License information is Invalid" I followed the link to the error page http://unity3d.com/unity/err/license but it brought me to a 404 page. I have already Reinstalled unity twice now, even deleted the Unity file in the Roaming folder. Any help?
  27. Tanel

    Tanel

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    It says this in the release notes: Manual Activation from inside the License Manager window, will generate invalid license request file (it will work for missing internet connnections).

    http://unity3d.com/unity/beta/notes

    So, don't do manual activation if that's what you did, if not then there seems to be some other problem.
  28. brilliantgames

    brilliantgames

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,788
    Hey everyone. Just thought I would share some screen shots of a tessellation demo I am working on. This is all done on Unity 4 Free. Theres tessellation on the sand and the rock.

    Just wanted to show everyone how useful this new feature is. This scene runs at 250 FPS on my machine.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012
  29. _Spanda_

    _Spanda_

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    141

    Thats the thing... It never asked me for my License or anything! Are there more Unity files other than in the main Program Files one and the Appdata/Roaming one?
  30. cynel

    cynel

    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    733
    wow if you can do that imagine what i can do with this in a cartoon art style
  31. Tanel

    Tanel

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    It prompted a window where I could enter a serial for an existing license, or just log in and use a new free license. I chose the free license option and it worked. Also I didn't delete anything previously, just renamed the old unity folder under Program Files (Windows user) to Unity3.5.
  32. shifty

    shifty

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    252
    You guys are amazing. Thank you for changing the way we make games.
    my Pomeranian made a gym apps this morning, got declined because of pornographic images..
  33. _Spanda_

    _Spanda_

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    141
    I managed to fix the bug by re-downloading the installer, it still gave me the error, but this time when I clicked continue/ok it prompted me with the license validation screen, it works perfectly! Can't wait to use Unity4!
  34. Neptune_Imaging

    Neptune_Imaging

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,688
    That is looking cool, Brilliant... even in free it looks cool... I tried tessellation on a character model and it looked smooth, but with wireframes, it looks so wrong... I was under the impression of tessellation performing like a SubD level in Zbrush... so for animated models, I am going to pass on tessellation and model the character smoothly outright.
  35. The Ghost

    The Ghost

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Awesome! Downloading right now.
  36. martinvium

    martinvium

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks for reporting this, it should be fixed now.
  37. martinvium

    martinvium

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    I added Linux to the Win/Macoption, aka desktop, thanks! :)
  38. TylerPerry

    TylerPerry

    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,181
    Fuuuuuu, this just wasted most of weekend(I have a 4 day weekend) I installed win8 on my pc sunday morning and since then unity has not been working... and I can't code tomorrow because I have to study for my exams :( To normal people this is no problemo as they will just code another time but I'm like a werewolf coder, only during a full moon can I be bothered doing it :(/RANT
  39. Aurore

    Aurore

    Community Rambo Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,713
    Can you be a little more specific?
  40. UNITY3D_TEAM

    UNITY3D_TEAM

    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    555
  41. primaerfunktion

    primaerfunktion

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    The second sentence on the page says: "This is the latest beta release for Unity 4, available to both Pro pre-order and Free customers."
  42. UNITY3D_TEAM

    UNITY3D_TEAM

    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    555
    can i able to use both 3.5 and 4 at same time?.im having windows xp
  43. Aurore

    Aurore

    Community Rambo Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,713
    Yes, if you rename the folders as discussed throughout this thread.