Search Unity

Unit Testing / TDD An Object That Moves Around A Pivot

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by turbosheep, Feb 8, 2016.

1. turbosheep

turbosheep

Hi, I'm very new to unit testing / test driven development and just started a test project in which a few cubes rotate around a pivot in space, and the player can shoot the cubes for points.

I already got stuck. I made my test project, wrote a test function... but how would I assert that the cube is moving around a pivot in 3D space? Is this better done with an integration test? And even then, how would you know the cube is rotating around a pivot without tons of checks / collision triggers validating the path of the moving object?

If there are any experienced unit testing programmers out here, help would really be appreciated. :)

2. LeftyRighty

LeftyRighty

if an object is rotating around a pivot the distance between the object and the pivot should remain constant.

Seems like an odd thing to unit test though o_O

3. turbosheep

turbosheep

Thanks for the reply. That's a good point, that the distance should remain constant.
    I'm unit testing it because TDD dictates that tests should be written before production code.
    Whether or not this is feasible, I have no idea yet. I'm learning this concept from books like the one from Kent Beck, which aren't focused on game development.

4. Baste

Baste

TDD in the context of Unity is hard.

Say you're writing a car game, and you want to introduce a feature where a car gets damaged when it crashes into a wall. You'll want to set up a unit test for this. So, the Unit test would create a car, call the collision method, and assert that the car's front is damaged. Easy, right?

Well, first of all creating objects is a bit tricky - you don't have constructors, so you'll have to instantiate game objects and add the correct components. But it's doable.