Search Unity

UML in Unity

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by codebeans, Apr 16, 2015.

1. codebeans

codebeans

Hey folks,
    I am an IT student with a big interest in Software Engineering.
    So writing games, assets and a few prototpyes for a couple of years in unity, I kind of miss the usual approach to model the software first (UML, Requirements specificaiton, code generation...) in Unity.

Now, I know that things are a bit different in Unity, such as instantiating GameObjects, but still...
    I think a nice toolset would be great.

Not only should it speed up coding, but also try to get the programmer some best practices, since most people I get in contact with, who are now pretty good programmers, started to get in touch with coding via games and game development.
    And lets be honest the first code is always a mess.

I'm thinking about this now for about a week and would like to get some feedback on what you think about unity+uml.

Ideas,
    Nice-to-have tools,
    experiences with other modelling tools and Unity (MS Visio, Freemind, StarUML,....)
    or whatever comes to your mind.

MaxFrax96 likes this.
  2. TonyLi

TonyLi

I think you'll find that, as with software development in general, some Unity developers follow formal software engineering practices and some don't. Game development attracts more hobbyists, so the balance skews more toward off-the-cuff hacking, but I'd wager that a lot of large studios and professional developers use decent engineering practices. There's nothing stopping you from doing UML with Visual Studio Ultimate, or using Unity's Test Tools (with a nice tutorial now), etc.

angrypenguin likes this.
  3. codebeans

codebeans

"Game development attracts more hobbyists, so the balance skews more toward off-the-cuff hacking"

That's what I mean. I imagine a toolset inside Unity to help you out with some guidlines.