Search Unity

UI Canvas/Button and Augmented Reality with Vuforia

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by noblerare, Nov 21, 2015.

1. noblerare

noblerare

Hi, I am new to Unity and Vuforia.

I was able to set up an ARCamera and ImageTarget with a child GameObject cube. When I scan my marker with my iPad, I can see the cube hovering over my marker. Great.

Now, I am trying to get the cube to become a clickable button so I tried using a UI Button. However, creating any UI object means that it comes with a UI Canvas as well. So, I want to be able to scan the marker and have the button show up but that is not working. The button is simply just there on the screen regardless of whether or not I scan over the marker.

What should my hierarchy look like?

ARCamera
    -> Camera

ImageTarget
    -> Canvas
    ->-> Button
    ->->-> Text

Or should it be:

ARCamera
    -> Camera

Canvas
    -> ImageTarget
    ->-> Button
    ->->->Text

What do I do with two ImageTargets? Should I use the first hierarchy or second?

Finally, what should my canvas Render Mode be? I currently have it as "Screen Space - Overlay." I tried "Screen Space - Camera" but it didn't really make that much of a difference. The buttons still did not show up when scanning the marker.

2. DrBlort

DrBlort

Sorry that I can't go into detail here, but if you want a button to follow your object in 3D space, the (probably) easier way would be to have the canvas in world space.
    You'll have to play with the scale of the canvas, I usually have it be a 1600x900 size, and 0.01 scale on the 3 axis. Otherwise you'll have to position and size everything else inside it with decimal values.