Search Unity

Turn Based Multi-Player game, not controlling a character

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by dben41, Dec 9, 2015.

1. dben41

dben41

Hello I'm new to Unity, but have experience in programming,

1. I want to create a simple demo. I want there to be a cube, in the middle of a plane, that changes colors when you click it. (This was easy to implement)
    2. I want there to be two players, who take turns clicking the cube.
    3. The cube will only change colors if it is your turn. If the cube changes colors, the change will reflect on both the players' screens.
    I've been looking at the examples for UNET, http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/unet-sample-projects.331978/, and most of them have a networked character who you control with your keyboard, and this aspect is throwing me off. Do I still need to create 2 players, but just have them be invisible and have no control scripts? Should my block be a prefab? Here's my script for my block:

Code (csharp):
    2. void Update()
    3. {
    4.       if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Space))
    5.       {
    6.           // Command function is called from the client, but invoked on the server
    7.            CmdChangeColor();
    8.        }
    9. }
    11. [Command]
    12. void CmdChangeColor()
    13. {
    14.       if (cubeColor == Color.green) cubeColor = Color.magenta;
    15.       else if (cubeColor == Color.magenta) cubeColor = Color.blue;
    16.       else if (cubeColor == Color.blue) cubeColor = Color.yellow;
    17.       else if (cubeColor == Color.yellow) cubeColor = Color.red;
    18.       else cubeColor = Color.green;
    20.       GetComponent<Renderer>().material.color = cubeColor;
    21. }