Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Trouble with C# classes

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by XHuntinatorX, Sep 18, 2014.

1. XHuntinatorX

XHuntinatorX

I'm having a hard time understanding the concept of "Classes" in the C# language. I have some experience with "ActionScript" and "GML"...Game Maker Language" and can make simple games but C# seems to be a different beast than the languages I'm familiar with. The whole "Classes" concept seems unnecessary and redundant to me, so I'm obviously not grasping their importance or function. The closest analogy I can draw on is that in Game Maker "GML" I can create a script that isn't attached to any object and then call that script with code from an object, pass arguments to it or not, and return a value or not. Am I on the right track here?

2. cmcpasserby

cmcpasserby

Classes are part of object oriented programming, you can have 1 class that is used as the template to define the methods and datatypes in many different objects, but each object will contain its own data.

Classes also allow for inheritance say i write a class for a enemy type, than i want to make a other enemy that is slightly different or has some extra abilities, i can make my new enemy class inherit its methods and data from the enemy class, than add new data and methods, or override some old ones to create a new enemy type that inherits the functionality of the old one as well as adding to it.

The difference between methods and your functions in GML would be that methods can access all the data available in the class, which helps streamline things since you dont have to pass in data that object already owns

3. GarthSmith

GarthSmith

EDIT: Look at my post below. This post just talks about the importance of classes but doesn't actually explain anything. >.>