Search Unity

Top down view attack system

Discussion in '2D' started by Eziekieal, Mar 28, 2015.

1. Eziekieal

Eziekieal

Hey guys. Still a newer Unity user.

I'm testing out a top down view game. I'm not sure how to go about the combat system though. I want it to be similar to a 2D Zelda game.

I have my player character and when I press a button I want to overlay a sword sprite to swing in the direction the player is facing. Then anything that collides with that sword takes damage and gets knocked back.

But that's where I'm stuck. How would I go about overlaying a sword to my sprite? And keep it synced to my players swing animation? Once I know that then I can add a collider to that sword to check if it hits enemies.

How would I do that? Or what would be a better way to make this attack system?

Any help is appreciated, thanks! Even a point to a proper guide is helpful.

2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Hello Eziekieal.

I'm not a programmer so there's probably a much better way to do this than I'm about to propose, so take this as coming from a total artist with no ability to develop a system via code. :)

From reading stuff on these forums I think most use tiles for this type of game. And for the character animation since it's a 2D Zelda type game the most frames/sprites you will need for the sword attack is 3 so I'd create the attack sprite with the sword, not separate. Make it part of the character sprite during the 3 attack frames.
    With tiles I'm sure there is a way to say character is attacking and facing left. If any enemy is adjacent to the tile, to the left of the character, when playing the attack animation. Hit the enemy.
    Alternately I don't know if tiles are important. Possibly there could be a trigger on the animation that checks for enemies within a specific area (in front of) and at a set distance to the character when attacking. If enemy is within the set distance and in front of the character WHAMMO!