Search Unity

Suggestion about how to manage a brick like spaceship

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Signo, Sep 26, 2014.

1. Signo

Signo

Hello all, as a beginner I wish to have some steering direction about how to make stuff. I already made a "study project" to help understand how to make a gameobject composed of multyple colliders and have them communicate each other. Now I feel it's time to make a step up, and I wish to build a system that allow the player to build a spaceship with different "bricks" and then (obviously) blow stuff and explosions everywhere.
    So I bet there are a lot of ways to make things, and wish some input to resolve some issue I have:
    The spaceship will be a single rigidbody, with multiple colliders, everytime a collider is destroyed or damaged I need to "remanage" the ship resources, this is the easy part and I think within my reach. What I want to do, and don't know how, is to check "hull integrity", in other word, I want the ship to check if some brick (or a group of brick) remain isolated from the ship, in this case , this "debris" need to turn in a new rigidbody, that will float in space.
    Suggestions?

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

I suggest you take a look through the Unity Asset Store for some of the free complete projects, such as the space shooters.

They can teach you a LOT, but you need to really make the effort to understand them. Fortunately, there are tons of forum posts asking questions about these games by others who came before you.

Once you have an understanding of a functioning game, then you can begin to either modify that code to get closer to what you are trying to do, or else begin to form an idea how to accomplish your goals in your own project.

There are many other Unity game demo samples available all over the net, as well as in these forums, and you can always start from those too.

Kurt

3. JoeStrout

JoeStrout