Search Unity

Stuck at splash screen

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by User340, Jan 28, 2016.

  1. User340

    User340

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,001
    On an iPad Air 2 and iPhone 6 Plus, my app gets stuck at the splash screen and just stays there forever, though it does work on an iPad Mini. Xcode is not generating any errors, see below for output. It just started after upgrading to Unity 5.3.2p1. Any ideas what's causing it to freeze up?

     
    caglarenes likes this.
  2. theolagendijk

    theolagendijk

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    117
    I have the same issue in iOS exports from Unity 5.3.2p1 ( in my case with OpenGL ES 2.0 graphics ).

    App freezes at splash screen on iPhone 6 Plus.
     
    caglarenes likes this.
  3. michael-v

    michael-v

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    I have same problem, my app using Metal. It seems to correlate with iOS version - all my "iOS 9.2" devices working fine, but "iOS 9.3 beta" devices hangs.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2016
  4. theolagendijk

    theolagendijk

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    117
    My iPhone 6+ runs iOS 9.2.1 and hangs too.
     
  5. michael-v

    michael-v

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    Everyone here is with iPhone6+, my hangs too, but i also have a hanged Apple iPad mini 2, and working ipod4 and ipad air.
     
  6. michael-v

    michael-v

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    Here is snapshot of process (nothing interesting - all just memory adresses) - http://monosnap.com/image/YwcL9OtlARIpZFB193G4IvNYV4DzgT

    Here is image of xcode threads view - http://monosnap.com/image/2Sfte0ZAEWboE6Ym8XxvkOtrIfhynC - it's stuck on UnityPreload thread.

    Here is it's stacktrace - http://monosnap.com/image/3vS7RFbNoGmPoFol1nG161ajkwFCTw

    It seems that Interpreter_Scan_m2842958907_MetadataUsageId
    is in constant loop:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. // System.Text.RegularExpressions.Match System.Text.RegularExpressions.Interpreter::Scan(System.Text.RegularExpressions.Regex,System.String,System.Int32,System.Int32)
    2. extern TypeInfo* Match_t3797657504_il2cpp_TypeInfo_var;
    3. extern const uint32_t Interpreter_Scan_m2842958907_MetadataUsageId;
    4. extern "C"  Match_t3797657504 * Interpreter_Scan_m2842958907 (Interpreter_t3383401557 * __this, Regex_t3802381858 * ___regex, String_t* ___text, int32_t ___start, int32_t ___end, const MethodInfo* method)
    5. {
    6.  
    It's calling this method that never seems to end:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. // System.Boolean System.Text.RegularExpressions.Interpreter::Eval(System.Text.RegularExpressions.Interpreter/Mode,System.Int32&,System.Int32)
    2. extern TypeInfo* QuickSearch_t1268643792_il2cpp_TypeInfo_var;
    3. extern TypeInfo* Char_t2778706699_il2cpp_TypeInfo_var;
    4. extern TypeInfo* RepeatContext_t3489422196_il2cpp_TypeInfo_var;
    5. extern const uint32_t Interpreter_Eval_m3588984028_MetadataUsageId;
    6. extern "C"  bool Interpreter_Eval_m3588984028 (Interpreter_t3383401557 * __this, int32_t ___mode, int32_t* ___ref_ptr, int32_t ___pc, const MethodInfo* method)
    7. {
    8.  
     
    caglarenes likes this.
  7. robertsze

    robertsze

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    same here. New unity version, new regressions.
     
  8. aixa

    aixa

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Posts:
    46
    For me it helped to switch to armv7 from universal in architecture. Looks like arm64 is not working with this version.
     
    nxtboyIII and caglarenes like this.
  9. User340

    User340

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,001
    That's good to know.

    @Mantas Puida any ideas as to what's going on here? It's currently preventing me from shipping.
     
  10. User340

    User340

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,001
    Update, I made an empty project, build and run in Xcode and no issues whatsoever. It's something about my other project that it doesn't like...
     
  11. User340

    User340

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,001
    I'd like to verify, this did indeed work for me. Something about the Universal architecture is not working.

    This will not work because, correct me if I'm wrong, armv7 is not 64-bit (whereas arm64 is). 64-Bit is mandatory on the iOS App Store.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
    michael-v and bjornrun like this.
  12. majman

    majman

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Same here, iPhone 6s running iOS 9.2.1
     
  13. caglarenes

    caglarenes

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    45
    Same problem. Unity 5.3.2p1 and iPhone 6 iOS 9.2.1. My old project isn't work but new projects work well. I think the problem is about UI system because my old project without UI is workd also well in 5.3.2p1
     
  14. nxtboyIII

    nxtboyIII

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Posts:
    281
    Yup this is happening with me too, also the UI is completely invisible.
     
  15. Gametyme

    Gametyme

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    618
    Same here. Old projects dont work but if I build a new project it works.
     
  16. JoshPeterson

    JoshPeterson

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    6,931
    I'm not entirely sure about the cause of these issues, but we did have a known bug with arm64 that is corrected in 5.3.2p2. The bug first appeared in 5.3.1p4. So if you see that arm64 breaks between those versions and armv7 continues to work, then the problem might be this issue.

    Note that the reports we've had of this problem so far don't match and of the behaviors mentioned here, but this could be the bug manifesting itself in a different way.
     
  17. docjaq-reach

    docjaq-reach

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    I get this problem as well. Targeting only armv7 provides a fix. What's the release schedule for patch 5.3.2p2?
     
  18. JoshPeterson

    JoshPeterson

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    6,931
    @docjaq-reach

    It is scheduled to be out on Wednesday of this week (but that could slip a day or so). Note that you could try 5.3.1p3 as well. If this is the problem I'm describing, it is not present in that release.
     
  19. majman

    majman

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Not sure if this is helpful, but at least in my case the app doesn't even quite get to the splash screen... that is, the default "Made with Unity / Personal Edition" screen never even appears. I just get the blank dark blue/black screen.

    XCode output:
    2016-01-30 13:28:22.090 lookup-beta[3207:1986050] -> registered mono modules 0x100e7b650
    2016-01-30 13:28:22.187 lookup-beta[3207:1986050] You've implemented -[<UIApplicationDelegate> application:didReceiveRemoteNotification:fetchCompletionHandler:], but you still need to add "remote-notification" to the list of your supported UIBackgroundModes in your Info.plist.
    -> applicationDidFinishLaunching()
    -> applicationDidBecomeActive()
    Init: screen size 750x1334
    Initializing Metal device caps
    Initialize engine version: 5.3.2p1 (82077c0be25b)
     
  20. docjaq-reach

    docjaq-reach

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks!
     
  21. Gametyme

    Gametyme

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    618
    Just to clarify. My games dont get to the splash screen.
     
  22. CarlosLM

    CarlosLM

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I also see the same behavior on two different devices with 9.2.1

    One additional thing I saw is that the build size grew from around 77 Mb to 242 Mb, any one else seeing this?
     
  23. GuyTidhar

    GuyTidhar

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    For me as well.

    @JoshPeterson - does this mean the upcoming 5.3.2p2 is expected to fix this?
     
  24. JoshPeterson

    JoshPeterson

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    6,931
    @GuyTidhar

    If your issue is the same one we discussed on another thread, then I don't think it is related to this issue, and may not be corrected in 5.3.2p2. You should be able to confirm that by trying your project with armv7 only. The issue where was specific to arm64. If your project works with armv7, then indeed it may be the same issue that will be corrected in 5.3.2p2.
     
  25. User340

    User340

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,001
    Update, 5.3.2p2 has corrected the issue for me. My app is no longer stuck on the splash screen.
     
  26. Gametyme

    Gametyme

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    618
    Fixed for me as well.
     
  27. theolagendijk

    theolagendijk

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    117
    Yes, Unity update 5.3.2p2 fixed my issue as well.
     
  28. michael-v

    michael-v

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    Confirmed
     
  29. GuyTidhar

    GuyTidhar

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Confirmed as well.

    And again - full of other bugs.
     
  30. User340

    User340

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,001
    Can you specify?
     
  31. GuyTidhar

    GuyTidhar

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Where do I begin?
    Jesus. This is just horrible. iOS freezes like hell from possible wifi issues.
     
  32. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,123
    File bug reports and keep pestering them to fix it. Thats what I do. :p :) Saying 'its is just horrible' doesn't help anyone, not even yourself.

    On another note..

    We received our first rejection the other day from apple because the app failed to start.. Seemed pretty random. We've had issues with the game getting stuck in the loading screen before but it was generally something we could fix. This one seemed really random - it worked on all our test devices yet on apples devices it just got stuck on the loading screen.

    Glad to see it is resolved - hoping that this will fix the issue for us too!
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2016
  33. GuyTidhar

    GuyTidhar

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Lol - of course I did that. I am working with Unity :)
     
    Prodigga likes this.
  34. gregory_igromatic

    gregory_igromatic

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    Still problems with arm64. Looks like the problem is Loadlevelasync. Investigating further.
     
  35. hakankaraduman

    hakankaraduman

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    354
    My app rejected for the same reason, what's the status for yours? I published it with 5.3.2p1 now I'm gonna try again with 5.3.2p2

    Also, is it definite that the loadlevelasync function cause this error? Do I have to remove that functionality?
     
  36. User340

    User340

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,001
    To confirm, you are using 5.3.2p2?
     
  37. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,123
    @hakankaraduman Hey man, ours is still sitting there rejected. I dont know what the cause is, but Josh says that it is possibly fixed in 5.3.2p2 so I am going to try again.

    For what its worth, we do not use LoadLevelAsync anywhere in our project.
     
  38. gregory_igromatic

    gregory_igromatic

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    5.3.2p3
    app works fine on ipad2
    on the new devices it launches ok but crashes right after
    when you launch it second time it works ok
     
  39. Kapuchin-janmajaya

    Kapuchin-janmajaya

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    I have tried all patch releases of 5.3.2 . Even tried armv7 only. Result is the same, stuck at Splash Screen. Should i try any other older release to fix the problem ?
     
  40. JoshPeterson

    JoshPeterson

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    6,931
    @Kapuchin.janmajaya

    Do you see any problems reported in the Xcode output when this happens? I'm not aware of any more widespread or general issues that could cause this, so I doubt that trying different versions will correct the problem. Maybe there is something specific to this project which causes the issue though.
     
  41. hakankaraduman

    hakankaraduman

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    354
    Did you tried the simulator?

    I was using 5.3.2p1 and the game did not open on ipad pro, ipad pro 2 and iphone 6s simulators.

    But it opened and played on simulators when I built with 5.3.2p2.
     
  42. Kapuchin-janmajaya

    Kapuchin-janmajaya

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7

    here's the Xcode output.

    -> applicationDidFinishLaunching()

    -> applicationDidBecomeActive()

    Renderer: PowerVR SGX 543

    Vendor: Imagination Technologies

    Version: OpenGL ES 2.0 IMGSGX543-113.3

    GLES: 2

    GL_OES_depth_texture GL_OES_depth24 GL_OES_element_index_uint GL_OES_fbo_render_mipmap GL_OES_mapbuffer GL_OES_packed_depth_stencil GL_OES_rgb8_rgba8 GL_OES_standard_derivatives GL_OES_texture_float GL_OES_texture_half_float GL_OES_texture_half_float_linear GL_OES_vertex_array_object GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_color_buffer_half_float GL_EXT_debug_label GL_EXT_debug_marker GL_EXT_discard_framebuffer GL_EXT_draw_instanced GL_EXT_instanced_arrays GL_EXT_map_buffer_range GL_EXT_occlusion_query_boolean GL_EXT_pvrtc_sRGB GL_EXT_read_format_bgra GL_EXT_separate_shader_objects GL_EXT_shader_framebuffer_fetch GL_EXT_shader_texture_lod GL_EXT_shadow_samplers GL_EXT_sRGB GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_texture_rg GL_EXT_texture_storage GL_APPLE_clip_distance GL_APPLE_color_buffer_packed_float GL_APPLE_copy_texture_levels GL_APPLE_framebuffer_multisample GL_APPLE_rgb_422 GL_APPLE_sync GL_APPLE_texture_format_BGRA8888 GL_APPLE_texture_max_level GL_APPLE_texture_packed_float GL_IMG_read_format GL_IMG_texture_comp

    ression_pvrtc

    OPENGL LOG: Creating OpenGL ES 2.0 graphics device

    Initialize engine version: 5.3.1p4 (9ca6c7a9c23e)
     
  43. Kapuchin-janmajaya

    Kapuchin-janmajaya

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    We went back to Unity 5.1.3 p2 and it works :D . So we will stick to this version for now. Thanks JoshPeterson, and hakankaraduman .
    Any one else facing the same issue, please report immediately.
     
    hakankaraduman likes this.
  44. gregory_igromatic

    gregory_igromatic

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    My problem was solved after removing Metal from build settings. We don't use unusual shaders...
    P.S. Built in 5.4 beta 6 (it had same problems)
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2016
  45. hakankaraduman

    hakankaraduman

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    354
    To let you know, my binary accepted by apple when I send it again by using Unity 5.3.2p2, I also used loadlevelasync in my project, it may be good to know for you, someone mentioned it earlier.
     
  46. brina-hubble

    brina-hubble

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I am getting this issue with Unity 5.3.4f1
     
  47. povilas

    povilas

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    427
    Could you please submit a bug report and attach a small reproduction project? Could you post the id of the new bug here? Thanks.
     
  48. unity_djyFJulwcfpaUg

    unity_djyFJulwcfpaUg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    i am facing this problem with my iPhone xr and i'm using unity 2019.4.0 lts version
     
    Yode_group likes this.
  49. Shankar-Ganesh

    Shankar-Ganesh

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    I am facing this issue with iPad Mini 5th Generation(iOS 13.5.1) and I am using Unity 2019.4.8f1 LTS with Xcode version 11.6. But works with iPad 7th Generation(iOS 13.5.1), iPhone X, iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 11 Pro, iPhone 6s
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2020
  50. Shankar-Ganesh

    Shankar-Ganesh

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    Updated iOS from 13.5.1 to 13.6 and it get worked...