Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Structuring Procedural Level Generation

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by LiberLogic969, Nov 12, 2014.

1. LiberLogic969

LiberLogic969

I'm having trouble figuring out a good way to structure a level that is procedurally generated. I'm going for a simple Binding Of Isaac style 2D Top-Down world which contains multiple Rooms that are connected together. You move from one room to the next so only one is visible at all times. How should I handle structuring a level like this in Unity? Should each room be a separate Scene or should I create a GameObject for each room and place them in a single scene and activate/deactivate as needed? Is it possible to create a new Scene from a script? I'm still relatively new to Unity and I've never done any procedural generation before. I've found a lot of information online about the subject but its all been about various algorithms for generating mazes and dungeons. I'm more interested in the design and setup that best fits Unity. I'm sure there's multiple answers to these questions, and it may just come down to preference, I'm just not sure how to move forward from here.

Any ideas would be really helpful!

2. Epictickle

Epictickle

You will firstly have to dynamically generate a Mesh..

I think you may be in over your head if you are new to Unity, man. Procedural generation, in itself, can be tricky.. But procedural generation with design parameters is another thing entirely..

Here's a video tutorial I followed awhile back.. Great stuff!

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLbghT7MmckI4qGA0Wm_TZS8LVrqS47I9R

Btw, the genre of your game would be "Dungeon Crawler".

LiberLogic969 and TonyLi like this.
  3. TonyLi

TonyLi

That looks like a good tutorial series. You don't necessarily have to generate meshes, however.