Search Unity

Storyline... how to come up with it? Characters? Dialog? etc.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by carmine, Jul 5, 2012.

1. carmine

carmine

So I'm looking for advice...

I met someone on reddit and we made our first game. We're going to start working on our next game, and here's my story (or lack of)...

We got the programming and art skills... I think our stuff looks great. I've been programming for 20 years and I'm really fast at making this stuff.

I look at other games in the space genre (for iOS/desktop/web/whatever)... and my first thought is... "people buy these games?, the controls are terrible., the graphics are using stock art/models/etc. We could make a better looking ship/station/asteroid/etc."

... but they always have a story line and HOURS of gameplay...

You may be saying, "Why is this post here, go post in collaboration or gamedevclassifieds"

Well this might sound funny, or bad or whatever.... but finding someone who will actually stick with it for more than a 3 emails back and forth is really difficult. I feel so lucky to find a really dedicated person that I think it would make more sense to gain writing skills, then to keep sifting through people. I'd rather find a dedicated mediocre person than a rock star very busy and easily distracted person.... anyway...

So...my questions to you...
    - What's a good way to be inspired for a story idea?
    - Does anyone have any suggestions on where to start?
    - Tricks for getting the creative juices flowing?
    - Writing dialog?
    - Good book suggestions for this that are geared towards games?
    - Any suggestions on how to do this with 2 people would be amazing.

Thank you all for your time, I'm having a great time with Unity and all of the "characters" here in the forums :)

For the curious... Game we made is here: http://snagen.com/aeosrift

2. Alex Cruba

Alex Cruba

Maybe my answer should not be the first, because I always see things kind of black and white...